Paralympian Jen Armbruster to be inducted into Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame

Sept. 26, 2011, 5:56 p.m. (ET)

Jennifer Armbruster has carved out an amazing pathway in sports during her life, and inspired countless others along the way.

On October 25, she will also become the first Paralympian to be inducted into the Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame.

Armbruster is a standout U.S. athlete on the international sports scene, with the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing her fifth for the United States. She was named as the Opening Ceremony flag bearer and as team captain helped lead the USA to the gold medal in goalball.

In 1989, the Colorado Springs athlete was destined to attend college on a basketball scholarship but started losing her vision in the latter part of the year. It was then that she was introduced to the team sport of goalball. Armbruster graduated from the University of Northern Colorado in 1997 with degrees in sociology and criminal justice and received her master's degree from Sam Houston State in 2000. She was inducted into the Sportswomen of Colorado Hall of Fame and was named the state’s Amateur Athlete of the Year in 1996.  In addition to her 2008 gold medal, she has also won two other Paralympic medals, three World Championships medals and three Pan Am Gold medals.

The Class of 2011 also includes USA Hockey’s accomplished boss Dave Ogrean, CU Basketball All-American and Olympic gold medalist Burdette Haldorson, Air Force quarterback great Dee Dowis, Dan McKiernan, one of the city’s most accomplished prep basketball coaches, Sky Sox Hall of Famer Sam Hairston, the first African-American to play for the Chicago White Sox in 1951, the revered 1961 USA World Figure Skating Team and Coach Edi Scholdan, tragically lost in a plane crash, and the 1978 Wasson Boys State Championship basketball team that won a state title in the first-ever appearance by the school in the tourney.