U.S. Paralympic Swimming Team Names Captains

June 27, 2008, 10:22 a.m. (ET)
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The U.S. Paralympic Swimming Team announced its four captains who will lead the athletes at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing, China in September.

Cheryl Angelelli-Kornoelje (Fraser, Mich.) and Erin Popovich (Silverbow, Mont.) will lead the team for the women, while Dave Denniston (Longmont, Colo.) and Jarrett Perry (Wichita, Kan.) will anchor the team for the men.

All 38 members of the team cast votes for two men and two women to guide the team in Beijing.

"I think we've got a great group of captains," U.S. Paralympics Team Head Coach Julie O'Neill said. "Three of four of them have already been captains on major teams."

Popovich, Angelelli-Kornoelje and Perry have all been captains on either Paralympic World or National Teams. All three of them medaled in Athens, with Popovich taking home seven golds. Denniston may be new to the leadership role, but he has plenty of experience in international competition.

Perry was surprised he was nominated but could not be any happier with the other selections.

"I was excited because I think they all deserved it and I think they will all bring something to the table from their lives," Jarrett Perry said.

O'Neill is very pleased with all four of her new captains, as she believes they all bring experience and leadership to the team.