US Biathlon U.S. Lands Three in ...

U.S. Lands Three in Ruhpolding Mass Start

By Bill Kellick | Jan. 17, 2019, 8:17 p.m. (ET)

Susan Dunklee races to a top-20 finish in the women's sprint on Thursday (photo by NordicFocus)

RUHPOLDING, Germany (Jan. 17, 2019) – Bolstered by strong performances in Thursday's sprint races, the U.S. qualified three athletes for Sunday's mass start events at the BMW IBU World Cup in Ruhpolding. Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.) and Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) will be in the field of 30 for the women's 12.5-kilometer mass start, while Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.) will line up in the 30-man men's 15km race.

In Thursday's 7.5km women's sprint, Dunklee had one penalty to finish 20th overall, 1 minute, 11.3 seconds behind Slovakia's Anastasiya Kuzmina. Egan finished 35th with two penalties, 1:44.6 back, with teammate Joanne Reid (Palo Alto, Calif.) close behind in 37th position, 1:45.2 off the pace with a single penalty.

"We put three women in the (World Cup) points today and we have two qualified for Sunday's mass start through top-25 ranking in the season overall," Dunklee pointed out. "We are showing stronger depth than ever before."

Egan is currently ranked 22nd in World Cup total score with Dunklee sitting in 25th position.

Kuzmina took the lead at the first split in this afternoon's women's sprint and never looked back, shooting clean to claim her second win of the new season in 19:15.1. Second place went to Italy's Lisa Vittozzi, 11.5 seconds back. Hanna Oeberg of Sweden finished third, 29.1 seconds behind Kuzmina. both Vittozzi and Oeberg shot clean.

With a single prone penalty in the men's 10km sprint, Doherty finished 23rd, 1:10.2 off the winning pace.

"I am very happy with my performance today," Doherty said. "There was no room for error out there today so I wish I could have that prone shot back, but I am looking forward to the relay tomorrow as I think we have a strong team and relays are always fun."

Jake Brown (Saint Paul, Minn.), in just his second World Cup individual race, shot clean to finish 47th, 1:40.8 back. Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.), also with clean shooting, tied for 50th, while Max Durtschi (Ketchum, Idaho) was 103rd.

Johannes Thingnes Boe of Norway, with one standing penalty, chased down his brother Tarjei's lead with a fast last loop to win the men's sprint in 22:56.3. Tarjei Bowe finished second, with clean shooting, 7.9 seconds back. Third place went to Germany's Benedikt Doll, with one penalty, 10.5 seconds off the pace.

The BMW IBU World Cup from Ruhpolding continues on Friday with the 4x7.5km men's relay. The team of Nordgren, Doherty, Brown and Durtschi will toe the start line for the U.S.

Fans can watch a same-day replay of World Cup races on the Olympic Channel (check your local listings).

There will be live streaming coverage each day on NBC Sports Gold and, as well as simulstreams of the Olympic Channel and NBCSN broadcasts.

Streams will be available on all digital platforms: desktop via, and mobile, tablet and connected television platforms via the NBC Sports Gold app.

They will also be available on and the Olympic Channel app. Broadcast simulstreams will be available on or the NBC Sports app (and do not require a Gold subscription to watch).

The NBC Sports Gold premium package will give paid subscribers commercial-free access to each event across the span of the competition. Users can subscribe to the NBC Sports Gold Snow Pass here:

Replay with commentary is also available thru

Women’s 7.5km sprint results


Anastasiya Kuzmina (SVK)



Lisa Vittozzi (ITA)



Hanna Oeberg (SWE)



Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.)



Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine)


37. Joanne Reid (Palo Alto, Calif.)

Men’s 10km sprint results


Johannes Thingnes Boe (NOR)



Tarjei Boe (NOR)



Benedikt Doll (GER)



Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.)


Jake Brown (Saint Paul, Minn.)
Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.)
Max Durtschi (Ketchum, Idaho)

Related Athletes

head shot

Susan Dunklee

head shot

Sean Doherty

head shot

Clare Egan

head shot

Joanne Reid

head shot

Jake Brown

head shot

Leif Nordgren

head shot

Max Durtschi