US Biathlon U.S. Women Race to F...

U.S. Women Race to Fourth Straight Top-10 Relay Finish

By Bill Kellick | Dec. 14, 2019, 10 a.m. (ET)

Susan Dunklee leaves the range during the second leg of the women's relay on Saturday in Hochfilzen (photo by NordicFocus)

HOCHFILZEN, Austria (Dec. 14, 2019) – The U.S. quartet of Joanne Reid (Grand Junction, Colo.), Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.), Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) and Emily Dreissigacker (Morrisville, Vt.) posted their second top-10 relay finish in the span of a week, and fourth straight going back to last season. Their eighth-place finish in Saturday's 4x6-kilometer relay at the BMW IBU World Cup in Hochfilzen was also the team's best effort since 2014.

It was especially sweet coming a day after all four failed to qualify for this weekend's pursuit when they finished outside the top-60 cutoff in Friday's 7.5km sprint.

"This was our best relay result since 2014 and the best one I've been part of," said Egan. "I'm really proud of all of us for coming back from a tough day yesterday to perform at our best today. That's what biathlon is all about."


Reid opened the relay with two spare rounds from prone but rebounded to clean from standing and tag off to Dunklee in 17th place. Dunklee cleaned from prone and despite needing three spares in standing, brought the team up 10 places as she made the exchange with Egan for the third leg in seventh position.

Egan went 10-for-10 on the range and tagged off to Dreissigacker for the final leg in sixth place. After a spare round in prone, Dreissigacker cleaned from standing in just 22 seconds, fastest in the field for the final leg, as was her 49.8 seconds of standing range time. Dreissigacker would stop the clock at 1 hour, 11 minutes and 41.7 seconds, 1:37 behind the winning time turned in by the team from Norway.

The foursome of Karolin Offigstad, Ingrid Landmark Tandrevold, Tiril Eckhoff and Marte Olsbu Roeiseland brought Norway their second women's relay win of the season in a time of 1:10:04.7, with one penalty and seven spare rounds. Russia finished second with five spares, 8.5 seconds back, while Switzerland placed third with one penalty and nine spare rounds, 1:04.1 behind Norway.

Later in the day the men's 12.5km pursuit took place and saw Norway's Johannes Thingnes Boe claim his first sprint/pursuit double of the season with clean shooting and a time of 31:27. Russia's Alexander Loginov was second, 33.5 seconds back, while France's Emilien Jacquelin earned the first World Cup podium of his career, 40.5 seconds behind Boe. Both Loginov and Jacquelin also shot clean.

For the U.S., Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.) was 49th and Leif Nordgren (Hinesburg, Vt.) was 53rd.

The BMW IBU World Cup in Hochfilzen concludes Sunday with the women's 10km pursuit and men 4x7.5km relay. Doherty and Nordgren will team with Alex Howe (Gilford, N.H.) and Travis Cooper (Kenai, Alaska) in the relay for Team USA beginning at 8 a.m. EST.


Fans can watch a same-day replay of the Hochfilzen World Cup races on the Olympic Channel (check your local listings).

There will be live streaming coverage each day on NBC Sports Gold ( and, as well as simulstreams of the Olympic Channel broadcasts.

Streams swill be available via desktop (, and as well as mobile, tablet and connected television platforms. The NBC Sports and Olympic Channel app are available on the Apple App Store, Google Play, Windows Store, Roku Channel Store, Apple TV and Amazon Fire.

Replay with commentary is also available thru


Women’s 4x6km relay results


Norway (Knotten, Tandrevold, Eckhoff, Roeiseland)



Russia (Reztsova, Kuklina, Mironova, Yurlova-Percht)



Switzerland (E. Gasparin, S. Gasparin, A. Gasparin, Haeckl)



USA (Reid, Dunklee, Egan, Dreissigacker)


Men’s 12.5km pursuit results


Johannes Thingnes Boe (NOR)



Alexander Loginov (RUS)



Emilien Jacquelin (FRA)



Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.)


53. Leif Nordgren (Hinesburg, Vt.) +6:17.2/+7

Related Athletes

head shot

Joanne Reid

head shot

Susan Dunklee

head shot

Clare Egan

head shot

Emily Dreissigacker

head shot

Sean Doherty

head shot

Leif Nordgren