U.S. Biathlon National Teams Named for 2019-20 Season

By Bill Kellick | April 09, 2019, 3:54 p.m. (ET)

Emily Dreissigacker
Emily Dreissigacker was one of four athletes named to the U.S. Biathlon Women's National A Team


NEW GLOUSESTER, Maine (April 9, 2019) – The U.S. Biathlon International Competition Committee has announced the following national team rosters for next season.


National Team Women and Men


A Team
Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine), A1
Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.), A1
Joanne Reid (Grand Junction, Colo.), A1
Emily Dreissigacker (Morrisville, Vt.), A3 


Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.), A1
Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.), A3 
Jake Brown (Saint Paul, Minn.), A3 


B Team
Deedra Irwin (Pulaski, Wis.)
Hallie Grossman (South Burlington, Vt.)
Chloe Levins (Rutland, Vt.)


Max Durtschi (Ketchum, Idaho)
Alex Howe (Gilford, N.H.)
Travis Cooper (Kenai, Alaska)
Paul Schommer (Appleton, Wis.)


Development Group
Kelsey Dickinson (Winthrop, Wash.)


Note: B Team athletes may be promoted to the A Team following summer biathlon national championships based on staff recommendations if approved by the ICC. Other athletes may be invited to training camps based on their results at the summer nationals as well.


NEW Junior National Team 2019
Based at Regional Centers/ Clubs


As a training-camp based group, the purpose of the Junior National Team is to foster effective training environments and coaching relationships that support the continued development of our top performing Junior and Youth athletes.


Biathletes named to this team have demonstrated internationally competitive biathlon performances and or nationally competitive ski speed. Athletes who place in the top-40 (excluding relays) at the preceding Junior & Youth World Championships (YJWCH) or the Junior Open European Championships (JOECH) will automatically qualify for this team as long as they will be at in the youth/junior age class for the coming season.   


If extra space is available at training camps before U.S. Summer National Championships, additional athletes may be invited to participate based on their best performance at Junior & Youth World Championships, Junior IBU Cups, JOECH and U.S. Nationals. After Summer Nationals, extra camp space will be filled by staff recommendations and U.S. Biathlon International Competition Committee approval based on the events listed above and Summer Nationals.


U.S. Biathlon will update these criteria before the start of the 2019-20 season and include additional pathways by which athletes can earn discretion nominations to the Junior National Team other than top-40 Y/JWCH and JOECH. 


Junior National Team
Chloe Levins (Rutland, Vt.)
Garrett Beckrich (Grand Rapids, Minn.)
Vasek Cervenka (Grand Rapids, Minn.)
Lars Hammernes Leopold (Truckee, Calif.)
Maxime Germain (Anchorge, Alaska)