Egan Elected Chair of IBU Athlete's Committee

By Bill Kellick | March 16, 2018, 8:41 p.m. (ET)

(March 16, 2018) -- Olympian Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) has been elected as chair of the International Biathlon Union's Athlete's Committee, it was announced Friday. Egan was named chair after receiving the most votes (130) from her fellow athletes, and is one of four athletes elected to the committee.

"It is a great honor, a bit of a surprise, and a clear mandate to continue the fight for integrity and clean sport within the IBU," said Egan. "Thanks to the work of our predecessors -- Lowell Bailey, Darya Domracheva, Ole Einar Bjoerndalen and Aita Gasparin -- the newly-elected Athlete's Committee is poised to take on a more central role in IBU governance. I take this role very seriously and I'm motivated to work on behalf of all IBU athletes as the new chair of the Athlete's Committee."

Joining Egan on the committee will be Switzerland's Gasparin (105 votes), Erik Lesser of Germany (100 votes) and Martin Fourcade of France (98 votes). The new members will serve on the committee for the period of 2018-2022.