Egan Earns Mass Start Berth at Nove Mesto World Cup

By Bill Kellick | Dec. 22, 2018, 12:15 p.m. (ET)

Clare Egan races in the women's pursuit on Dec. 22 at the BMW IBU World Cup in Nove Mesto (photo by NordicFocus)

NOVE MESTO, Czech Republic (Dec. 22, 2018) – A strong December has earned Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) a spot among the top-30 women in Sunday's mass start race on the final day of the BMW IBU World Cup in Nove Mesto. Two weeks after posting a career-best sixth-place finish in the pursuit at the World Cup in Pokljuka, Slovenia, Egan raced to her second-highest World Cup pursuit finish on Saturday, placing 20th in the 10-kilometer race, with three penalties, 2 minutes 22.3 seconds off the winning time.

"I'm really glad that I qualified for the mass start because I know I belong in there right now," said Egan. "My favorite parts of today's race were warming up in the sleet and hail, laughing with the other women before the start as we all hid underground in the start tunnel, shooting a clean last stage, and making a super pass on the final climb. This has been an extraordinary start to the season for me and I plan to carry that momentum through tomorrow and into the new year."

Norway's Marte Olsbu Roeiseland took the women's pursuit win in a sprint finish over Italy's Dorothea Wierer. With two penalties, Olsbu Roeiseland finished in 31:59, just .2 seconds ahead of Wierer who had a single miss. Hanna Oeberg of Sweden claimed her first-ever World Cup podium in third place, with one penalty, 4.7 seconds behind Olsbu Roeiseland.

Rounding out the Team USA effort in the women's pursuit were Joanne Reid (Palo Alto, Calif.) in 51st and Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.) in 53rd.

Earlier in the day, Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.) moved up 24 spots from his start position to finish 27th in the men's 12.5km pursuit. Doherty cleaned both prone stages but had three misses in standing to stop the clock 3:07.4 behind the winner.

"It is a pleasure to race here in Nove of the best atmospheres for competition," said Doherty. "I am glad I was able to stay composed on the range and claw my way into points."

Doherty earned 14 World Cup points for his effort and is now ranked 37th in the pursuit after the first three competitions of the season.

Norway's Johannes Thingnes Boe came back on the last loop of the men's pursuit to secure his second win of the week in 31:59, overcoming four penalties. Russia's Alexander Loginov, also with four penalties, finished second, 6.2 seconds back. Older brother Tarjei Boe was third with one penalty, 23.9 seconds behind his younger brother.

Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.) placed 54th and Travis Cooper (Kenai, Alaska) was 58th for Team USA

Egan will race in the final World Cup event of 2018 on Sunday as the women's 12.5km mass start begins at 8:30 a.m. ET.


Following today's races, the U.S. Biathlon International Competition Committee announced the rosters for the BMW IBU World Cup 4 as well as the rosters for the IBU Cup 4.

BMW IBU World Cup 4 - Oberhof, Germany - Jan. 7-13, 2019

Sean Doherty
Leif Nordgren
Travis Cooper
plus 1 athlete called up for relay from IBU Cup roster

Clare Egan
Susan Dunklee
plus 2 athletes called up for relay from IBU Cup roster

IBU Cup 4 - Duszniki Zdroj, Poland - Jan. 7-13, 2019

Jake Brown
Vaclav Cervenka
Max Durtschii
plus winner of IBU Cup Trials in Midway, Utah, Dec. 28-31, 2018

Joanne Reid
Emily Dreissigacker
Deedra Irwin
plus winner of IBU Cup Trials in Midway, Utah, Dec. 28-31, 2018

Fans can watch a same-day replay of World Cup races on the Olympic Channel (check your local listings).

There will be live streaming coverage each day on NBC Sports Gold and, as well as simulstreams of the Olympic Channel and NBCSN broadcasts.

Streams will be available on all digital platforms: desktop via, and mobile, tablet and connected television platforms via the NBC Sports Gold app.

They will also be available on and the Olympic Channel app. Broadcast simulstreams will be available on or the NBC Sports app (and do not require a Gold subscription to watch).

The NBC Sports Gold premium package will give paid subscribers commercial-free access to each event across the span of the competition. Users can subscribe to the NBC Sports Gold Snow Pass here:

Replay with commentary is also available thru

Women’s 10km pursuit results


Marte Olsbu Roeiseland (NOR)



Dorothea Wierer (ITA)



Hanna Oeberg (SWE)



Clare Egan  (Cape Elizabeth, Maine)



Joanne Reid  (Palo Alto, Calif.)



Susan Dunklee  (Barton, Vt.)



Men’s 12.5km pursuit results


Johannes Thingnes Boe(NOR)



Alexander Loginov (RUS)



Tarjei Boe (NOR)



Sean Doherty  (Center Conway, N.H.)



Leif Nordgren  (Marine, Minn.)



Travis Cooper  (Kenai, Alaska)