U.S. Biathlon Names January 2017 World Cup and IBU Cup Teams

By Bill Kellick | Dec. 20, 2016, 5:55 p.m. (ET)

Tim Burke competes at the season's World Cup opener in Oestersund, Sweden

NEW GLOUCESTER, Maine (December 20, 2016) -- U.S. Biathlon’s International Competition Committee (ICC) met today and is happy to announce the rosters for the first World Cup and IBU Cup events of 2017. The ICC would like to congratulate all the participants in the IBU Cup Trials as well as their coaches and the clubs that support them.

World Cup 4-6
The following athletes are named to the roster for World Cups 4 to 6 taking place in Oberhof, Ruhpolding and Antholz. Additional athletes may be named for World Cups 5 and 6 in accordance with the Team Selection Procedures

Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.)
Joanne Reid (Boulder, Colo)
Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine)

Lowell Bailey (Lake Placid, N.Y.)
Tim Burke (Paul Smiths, N.Y.)
Russell Currier (Stockholm, Maine)
Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.)

Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.) is currently not on the World Cup roster due to health reasons

The following athletes are named to the roster for IBU Cup 4 in Martell, Italy (Jan. 5-8) and IBU Cup 5 in Langdorf, Germany (Jan. 12-15):

Maddie Phaneuf (Old Forge, N.Y.)
Emily Dreissigacker (Morrisville, Vt./Craftsbury Green Racing Project)
Hallie Grossman (Craftsbury Green Racing Project)
Siena Ellingson (Minnetonka, Minn.)


Paul Schommer (Appleton, Wis./U.S. Biathlon X-Team)
Alex Howe (Craftsbury Green Racing Project, Vermont)
Jake Ellingson (Mt. Itasca Biathlon, Minn.)
Max Durtschi (Ketchum, Idaho/U.S. Biathlon X-Team)

The U.S. Biathlon staff and the ICC wish all the athletes happy holidays and much success in the new year!