U.S. Biathlon Names January 2016 World Cup And IBU Cup Teams

Dec. 22, 2015, 1:25 p.m. (ET)

NEW GLOUCESTER, Maine (December 22, 2015) -- U.S. Biathlon’s International Competition Committee (ICC) met today and is happy to announce the rosters for some of the first IBU Cup and World Cup events of 2016. The ICC would like to congratulate all the participants in the IBU Cup Trials as well as their coaches and the clubs that support them.

World Cup 4, 5 and 6
Women: Susan Dunklee (Barton, Vt.), Clare Egan (Cape Elizabeth, Maine), and Annelies Cook (Saranac Lake, N.Y.)
Men: Lowell Bailey (Lake Placid, N.Y.), Tim Burke (Paul Smiths, N.Y.), and Sean Doherty (Center Conway, N.H.)
An additional athlete per gender will be named for World Cups 5-6 following IBU Cup 4.
Also, the ICC reserves the option to consider athletes named to the IBU Cup Team for starting in the sprint race at World Cup 4 to maximize Nations Cup Point rankings.

IBU Cup 4
Women: Hannah Dreissigacker (Morrisville, Vt.), Joanne Reid (Boulder, Colo.), Maddie Phaneuf (Old Forge, N.Y.), and Emily Dreissigacker (Morrisville, Vt.)
Men: Leif Nordgren (Marine, Minn.), Wynn Roberts (Battle Lake, Minn.), Casey Smith (Winthrop, Wash.), and Max Durtschi (Ketchum, Idaho)

IBU Cup 5 and 6
Women: Same as IBU Cup 4.
Men: The ICC took note of the very close ranking in the IBU Cup Trials for men and therefore names the athletes who qualified for IBU Cup 4, plus Patrick Johnson (Truckee, Calif.) to replace the man who is moved up to World Cups 5-6.

Due to unusually warm weather in central Europe, World Cup 4 will be relocated from Oberhof, Germany, and IBU Cup events may need to be moved as well.

The U.S. Biathlon staff and the ICC wish all the athletes happy holidays and much success in the new year!