Sochi 2014 News U.S. Olympic Snowboa...

U.S. Olympic Snowboardcross Team Announced

By U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association | Jan. 25, 2014, 12 p.m. (ET)

Snowboardcross athletes Lindsey Jacobellis and Nate Holland will return to the Games next month in Sochi.

PARK CITY, UT – The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced the nomination of seven snowboardcross athletes Saturday. Athletes nominated to the team include Olympic silver medalist Lindsey Jacobellis and seven-time X Games gold medalist Nate Holland. The team also features three athletes, including Holland and Jacobellis, with previous Olympic experience. The formal naming of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team by the United States Olympic Committee is set for Jan. 27.


Men’s Snowboardcross

Nick Baumgartner, Iron River, MI (12/17/1981)
Alex Deibold, Manchester Center, VT (5/8/1986)
Nate Holland, Squaw Valley, CA (11/8/1978) *
Trevor Jacob, Mammoth Lakes, CA (8/6/1993)

Women’s Snowboardcross

Faye Gulini, Salt Lake City, UT (3/24/1992) *
Jackie Hernandez, Londonderry, VT (12/2/1992)
Lindsey Jacobellis, Stratton Mountain, VT (8/19/1985) *

* Competed in past Olympic Winter Gamess

"U.S. Snowboarding has a great history of success in snowboardcross," said Jeremy Forster, Director of Freeskiing and Snowboarding. "This group of athletes has worked hard to earn their Olympic nominations. With a great team of coaches, techs and medical staff supporting them they are fully prepared to compete in Sochi."

All nominations are subject to approval by the U.S. Olympic Committee.

Related Athletes

head shot

Nick Baumgartner

head shot

Nate Holland

head shot

Faye Gulini

head shot

Lindsey Jacobellis

head shot

Alex Deibold

head shot

Trevor Jacob

head shot

Jacqueline Hernandez