2014 U.S. Olympic Cross-Country Skiing Athletes Named

By U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association | Jan. 22, 2014, 12 p.m. (ET)
Cross-country skiers Andy Newell and Kikkan Randall were named to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team on Jan. 22, 2014.

PARK CITY, UT – The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced the nomination of 14 cross country athletes Wednesday afternoon. World Champions Kikkan Randall and Jessie Diggins will lead the team that includes seven athletes with Olympic experience. Randall, a two-time World Cup sprint champion, is going into the Games as a strong favorite. The U.S. team has been heralded for the strength of its roster throughout the season thus far and is expected to challenge the strong international field for Olympic medals. The formal naming of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team by the United States Olympic Committee is set for Jan. 27.


Men’s Cross Country

Erik Bjornsen, Winthrop, WA (7/14/1991)
Brian Gregg, Winthrop, WA (6/27/1984)
Kris Freeman, Concord, NH (10/14/1980) *
Simi Hamilton, Aspen, CO – (5/14/1987) *
Noah Hoffman, Aspen, CO (8/1/1989)
Torin Koos, Minneapolis, MN (7/19/1980) *
Andy Newell, Shaftsbury, VT (11/30/1983) * 

Women’s Cross Country

Sadie Bjornsen, Winthrop, WA (11/21/1989)
Holly Brooks, Anchorage (4/17/1982) *
Sophie Caldwell, Peru, VT (3/22/1990)
Jessie Diggins, Afton, MN (8/26/1991)
Kikkan Randall, Anchorage (12/31/1982) *
Ida Sargent, Orleans, VT (1/25/1988)
Liz Stephen, East Montpelier, VT (1/12/1987) *  

"We have a unique opportunity to make history in Sochi," said Chris Grover, head cross-country coach. "Our team speaks to years of dedication, experience and hard work with veterans setting the stage to turn that work into great results. Additionally, our younger athletes are fighting for results and have shown that they have earned their spots on this team. We're ready for the challenge ahead."

All nominations are subject to approval by the U.S. Olympic Committee.