2014 U.S. Olympic Freestyle Skiing Team Announced

By U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association | Jan. 21, 2014, 5 p.m. (ET)
L-R: Patrick Deneen, Emily Cook, Hannah Kearney

PARK CITY, UT (Jan. 21) – The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced the nomination of nine moguls and aerials athletes to represent the USA at the Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. The team will be led by reigning Olympic Champion Hannah Kearney and 2010 Olympians Patrick Deneen, Heather McPhie, Emily Cook and Ashley Caldwell. The athletes were nominated based on results on the International Ski Federation World Cup.

Men's Moguls

Patrick Deneen, Cle Elum, WA (12/25/1987) *
Bradley Wilson, Butte, MT (6/5/1992)

Women's Moguls

Hannah Kearney, Norwich, VT (2/26/1986) *
Heidi Kloser, Vail, CO (9/18/1992)
Heather McPhie, Bozeman, MT (5/28/1984) *
Eliza Outtrim, Hamden, CT (7/18/1985)

Men's Aerials

Mac Bohonnon, Madison, CT (3/27/1995)

Women's Aerials

Ashley Caldwell, Ashburn, VA (9/14/1993) *
Emily Cook, Belmont, MA (7/1/1979) *

* Competed in past Olympics

"Our Olympic Freestyle moguls and aerials team blends a mix of veteran champions like Hannah Kearney and Patrick Deneen with younger athletes who are starting to distinguish themselves like Mac Bohonnon," USSA Freestyle Director Todd Schirman said. "Every athlete on this team has shown that they can ski onto the podium against international fields and are well prepared to compete in Sochi."

All nominations are subject to approval by the U.S. Olympic Committee.