Home News Noah Lyles, Michael ...

Noah Lyles, Michael Norman, Christian Taylor, Ajee Wilson Win Diamond Trophies In Brussels

By Karen Price | Sept. 06, 2019, 5:05 p.m. (ET)

Noah Lyles celebrates winning the men's 200-meter final at the IAAF Diamond League on Sept. 6, 2019 in Brussels, Belgium.


Noah Lyles keeps making history.

The star U.S. sprinter last week became the first man to win Diamond Trophies in both the 100-meter and 200-meter, and on Friday he became the first ever to win both in the same season.

The 22-year-old Youth Olympian from Gainesville, Florida, came into the Diamond League Final in Brussels, Belgium, as the overwhelming favorite in the 200 and claimed his third trophy in a row at the distance with a time of 19.74 seconds. Defending world champion Ramil Guliyev of Turkey was second, finishing in a season’s best time of 19.86 seconds. 

Lyles also won the Diamond Trophy in the 100 last week in Zurich.

The win is accompanied by another trophy and another $50,000 prize, and it also further cements Lyles as the one to beat at the IAAF World Athletics Championships coming up in three weeks in Doha, Qatar. Diamond Trophy winners also earn a wild card spot in the world championships, creating an additional spot for the next-in-line qualifying athlete from nationals if the winner already has a spot. 

Another sprinter who picked up the win in Friday’s final was Michael Norman.

The field for the men’s 400 was packed with Americans and headlined by 2018 Diamond League champion Fred Kerley and world leader Norman. Kerley edged Norman to win the national championship in July and the two hadn’t raced one another since. 

Download the Team USA app today to keep up with track and field and all your favorite sports, plus access to videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, and more.

Norman won Friday’s rematch in a photo finish, crossing the line in 44.26 seconds ahead of Kerley, who was second with a time of 44.46 seconds. 

Jamaica’s Akeem Bloomfield took third but Americans took the next three spots with Obi Igbokwe, Kahmari Montgomery and Michael Cherry coming in fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively. 

American men swept the top four spots in the men’s triple jump as two-time Olympic champion Christian Taylor won with a new meet-record jump of 17.85 meters for his seventh Diamond Trophy in the event. The three-time world champion, who won in 2011, 2015 and 2017, out-jumped three-time Olympic medalist Will Claye, who was second with a best jump of 17.22 meters and Omar Craddock. Craddock was third with a jump of 17.17 meters and Donald Scott was fourth with a jump of 17.14 meters.   

Olympian Ajee Wilson was another favorite who delivered on Friday and collected her first-ever Diamond Trophy in the women’s 800. Wilson came in with three Diamond League victories to her name this season and cruised to the win with a time of 2:00.24. American Raevyn Rogers took second with a time of 2:00.67 to give the U.S. a 1-2 finish in the event. 

Long jump legend Brittney Reese, a three-time Olympian and gold and silver medalist, took second in the women’s long jump with a best jump of 6.85 meters. Reese won her eighth national title this summer and will be going for her fifth world title — she won in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2017 — later this month in Doha. 

Jamaica’s Danielle Williams won the women’s 100-meter hurdles, but Americans took the next several spots with Keni Harrison taking second with a time of 12.73 seconds and 2016 Olympic silver medalist Nia Ali coming in third by a hair with a time of 12.74 seconds. Sharika Nelvis was fourth and Christina Clemons fifth.

On Thursday, reigning Olympic champion Ryan Crouser finished third in the men’s shot put competition. He was locked in competition with eventual winner Tom Walsh of New Zealand, who became the first man to win back-to-back Diamond Trophies in shot put, and Brazil’s Darlan Romani. All three threw past 22 meters, with Crouser’s best throw of 22.08 meters coming in the third round. Walsh’s winning throw was 22.30 meters. Darrell Hill was fifth and Joe Kovacs eighth.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Christian Taylor

head shot

Ajeé Wilson

Track and Field
head shot

Brittney Reese

Track and Field
head shot

Ryan Crouser

head shot

Darrell Hill

head shot

Joe Kovacs

head shot

Nia Ali

head shot

Sharika Nelvis

head shot

Will Claye

head shot

Omar Craddock

head shot

Michael Cherry