Home News U.S. Olympic Committ...

U.S. Olympic Committee Announces Best Of February Honors For Team USA Awards Presented By Dow

By United States Olympic Committee | March 06, 2019, 4 p.m. (ET)


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Standout performances during February earned snowboarder Mick Dierdorff (Steamboat Springs, Colorado), Para Nordic skier Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky), and the U.S. mixed snowboardcross team of Dierdorff and Lindsey Jacobellis (Roxbury, Connecticut) Best of February honors for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

Dierdorff won two gold medals at the world championships in Park City, Utah. Entering the competition with two career world cup podium finishes, he rode to the win in snowboardcross, becoming the first American man to win a snowboardcross world title in 14 years. He then teamed with Jacobellis to take gold in the new mixed team snowboardcross event, which will make its Olympic debut in 2022

Masters won five world titles and garnered six medals at the world championships in Prince George, British Columbia. After recovering from two elbow surgeries following the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, she raced to world titles in the women’s sitting class of middle-distance biathlon, middle-distance cross-country, cross-country sprint, biathlon sprint and long-distance cross-country. She also earned a silver medal in individual biathlon.

Dierdorff and Jacobellis won the mixed team snowboardcross title at the world championships in Park City. Despite beginning her portion of the race in fourth place, Jacobellis roared past the field on the last leg of the course to victory. Dierdorff also finished first in the men’s race to help secure the gold medal. It was the sixth world championship title of Jacobellis’ career and the second world title for Dierdorff in three days.

About the Team USA Awards
Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. An internal nominating committee selects five nominees from both the male and female categories, and three from the team category to advance to the voting round. Votes received from NGB representatives and select members of the media account for 50 percent of the final tally, with the other half determined by online fan voting via TeamUSA.org/Awards.

Related Athletes

head shot

Lindsey Jacobellis

head shot

Mick Dierdorff

head shot

Oksana Masters

Nordic Skiing