Home News Fan Voting Is Live F...

Fan Voting Is Live For The WSF Sportswoman Of The Year — And Team USA Athletes Are Everywhere

By Chrös McDougall | July 23, 2019, 12:33 p.m. (ET)

Simone Biles, 2014's individual Sportswoman of the Year winner, finishing a performance during the Superstars of Gymnastic on March 23, 2019 in London.


Fan voting has opened for the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswoman of the Year Award, and Team USA athletes are filling the ballots.

Of the 20 nominees, seven of the individual sport finalists and five of the team sport finalists are U.S. athletes who play an Olympic or Paralympic sport. Of them, nine are either U.S. Olympians or Paralympians.

Among the candidates in the individual sport category are two past Sportswoman winners: gymnast Simone Biles (2014)m and boxer Claressa Shields (2016). Joining them is fellow Olympic gold medalist Mikaela Shiffrin, an alpine skier, and two Paralympic gold medalists in swimmer Becca Meyers and triathlete Allysa Seely. Track star Ajeé Wilson is also an Olympian, while mountain biker Kate Courtney is a favorite to make her Olympic debut next summer in Tokyo.

Rounding out the candidates are auto racer Jamie Chadwick (United Kingdom), climber Janja Garnbret (Slovenia) and golfer Jin Young Ko (South Korea).

Download the Team USA app today to keep up with all your favorite sports, plus access to videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, and more.

Soccer player Megan Rapinoe, who is coming off a Golden Boot and Golden Ball performance at this summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup, which the U.S. won, is among those up for the team sport category. Joining her are Olympic ice hockey player Kendall Coyne Schofield and water polo player Makenzie Fischer. All three are Olympic gold medalists.

UCLA softball pitcher Rachel Garcia and Las Vegas Aces forward A’ja Wilson are candidates to add that title next summer.

Two Dutch athletes — wheelchair basketball player Mariska Beijer and wheelchair tennis player Diede de Groot — are also among the nominees, with the German bobsled team of Mariama Jamanka and Annika Drazek, French ice dancer Gabriella Papadakis and Chinese divers Shi Tingmao and Wang Han filling out the field.

Fan voting is live at www.sportswomanoftheyear.com and runs through Aug. 2. Fan voting makes up half of the criteria, with a committee vote comprising the other half. Winners will be announced at the 40th Annual Salute to Women in Sports on Oct. 16 in New York City.

Chrös McDougall has covered the Olympic movement for TeamUSA.org since 2009 on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc. He is based in Minneapolis-St. Paul.

Related Athletes

head shot

Simone Biles

head shot

Claressa Shields

head shot

Mikaela Shiffrin

Alpine Skiing
head shot

Becca Meyers

head shot

Allysa Seely

head shot

Ajeé Wilson

Track and Field
head shot

Kate Courtney

head shot

Megan Rapinoe

head shot

Kendall Coyne-Schofield

Ice Hockey
head shot

Makenzie Fischer

head shot

Rachel Garcia