Home News Before They Won The ...

Before They Won The FIBA World Cup, The U.S. Women’s Basketball Players Amassed 17 NCAA National Titles

By Leah Jenk | Oct. 04, 2018, 5:31 p.m. (ET)


Earlier this week Team USA won the FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup and, in doing so, became the first country to qualify for the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020. 

All 12 of the Americans are former NCAA student-athletes who have won a combined 17 NCAA national championships. The women’s head coach, Dawn Staley, also serves as head coach of the University of Southern Carolina, and she will be closely watching the NCAA basketball scene on the road to announcing the team that will compete in Tokyo.

Take a look at the women’s collegiate successes before their latest victory with Team USA! 

Sue Bird, University of Connecticut, 2002
During her four years at UConn, the Huskies posted a 136-9 record (.938) and won a pair of NCAA national championships (2000 and 2002). Bird also won the 2002 ESPY for Top Female College Athlete of the Year. She has won four Olympic gold medals with Team USA, tying her for the most by any U.S. basketball players.

Tina Charles, University of Connecticut, 2010
While Charles was at UConn, the Huskies complied 146-6 record (.961) and captured the 2009 and 2010 NCAA titles. Charles ranks first among all-time UConn career leaders for points (2,346) and rebounds (1,367). In 2009 she was named the USA Basketball Female athlete of the Year and has won two Olympic gold medals.

Layshia Clarendon, University of California, 2013
During her four years at Cal, Clarendon took the Bears from the 2010 Women’s National Invitational Tournament championship to the 2013 NCAA Women’s Final Four tournament. She finished as the fourth-leading scorer in Cal history with 1,820 points.

Elena Delle Donne, University of Delaware, 2013
As a junior, Delle Donna led the nation in scoring and finished the season averaging 28.1 points per game. She ranks eighth among all-time NCAA Division I scoring leaders with 3,039 points. Delle Done led Delaware to the 2012 and 2013 NCAA tournaments. She also has a gold medal from the Olympic Games 2016.

Brittney Griner, Baylor University, 2013
While representing Baylor, Griner compiled a 135-15 record (.900), including a perfect 40-0 season in 2012. Griner led the Bears to the 2012 NCAA title, where she was named Most Outstanding Player. The 2016 Olympic champion also owns the all-time NCAA Division I career records for blocked shots (748) and dunks (18).

Jewell Loyd, University of Notre Dame, 2015
During her three years, Loyd helped Notre Dame compile a 108-6 (.947) record while competing in three NCAA Women’s Final Fours. She scored 1,909 points in her college career, the fifth highest in Notre Dame history. In 2015, Loyd was the espnW National Player of the Year.

Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford University, 2012
During her time as a Cardinal, Ogwunmike posted a 137-12 record (.919) and advanced to four NCAA Women’s Final Fours, including the 2010 national championship game. Ogwumike completed her career at Stanford as the second all-time leading scorer.

Kelsey Plum, University of Washington, 2017
As a student-athlete at Washington, Plum was the NCAA Division I all-time leading scorer with 3,527 points. She owns the NCAA single-season scoring record with 1,109 in 2016-17 and led the Huskies to its first NCAA Women’s Final Four.

Breanna Stewart, University of Connecticut, 2016
While at Connecticut, Stewart and the Huskies compiled a 151-5 (.968) record and amassed four consecutive NCAA titles. Stewart became the first player to win the NCAA Women’s Final Four Most Outstanding Player four times and won the 2016 ESPY for Best Female Athlete. She also won Olympic gold in 2016.

Diana Taurasi, University of Connecticut, 2004
During her four years at UConn, Taurasi and the Huskies tallied a 139-8 (.946) record and won three NCAA titles. She also earned two NCAA Women’s Final Four Most Outstanding Player awards. Taurasi was a two-time Naismith College Player of the Year (2003 and 2004) and is also a four-time Olympic gold medalist.

Morgan Tuck, University of Connecticut, 2016
Alongside teammate Stewart, Tuck earned four NCAA titles. During her senior season, she averaged 19 points, 6 rebounds and 4.5 assists per game while shooting 56.8 percent from the field during the Huskies' 2016 NCAA tournament competition.

A’ja Wilson, University of South Carolina, 2018
Throughout her time in Columbia, South Carolina, Wilson helped the Gamecocks to a 129-16 (.890) record and won the 2017 NCAA national championship. Wilson was the consensus National Player of the Year in 2017. In 2015, she was named the USA Basketball Female Athlete of the Year.

Related Athletes

head shot

Sue Bird

head shot

Tina Charles

head shot

Elena Delle Donne

head shot

Brittney Griner

head shot

Breanna Stewart

head shot

Diana Taurasi