Home News An Event-By-Event Lo...

An Event-By-Event Look At The Contenders For The USA Diving Senior National Championships

By Karen Price | May 16, 2018, 1:59 p.m. (ET)

Sam Dorman and Michael Hixon compete in men's 3-meter synchro at the 2017 FINA World Championships on July 15, 2017 in Budapest, Hungary.


This week’s USA Diving Senior National Championships will be packed with Olympians and many others who hope to add that distinction to their names at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

2016 Olympians Sam Dorman, Michael Hixon, Steele Johnson, Jessica Parratto, Katrina Young and Amy Cozad Magaña highlight the impressive field that also includes notable rising stars such as Tarrin Gilliand, Maria Coburn and Brooke Schultz. They’ll be competing not only for national titles but also to earn a spot on the 2018 FINA World Cup team, the top international competition of the 2018 season.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

Part of the 2018 Team USA Summer Champions Series presented by Xfinity, the senior national championships will be held on the campus of Southern Methodist University in Dallas. Live broadcasts will be on NBC from 2-3 p.m. ET on May 19 and 1-2 p.m. on May 20.

Fans enjoying the competition on-site also won’t want to miss Dorman (1 p.m.) and Olympic gold medalist gymnast Carly Patterson (3 p.m.) signing autographs on Wednesday at the Team USA Social Truck presented by OREO in front of the new Robson & Lindley Aquatics Center. The truck will be open from noon-5 p.m.

Here’s a look at the signature events and some of the big names to watch:

Men’s 3-meter Springboard

Final: Saturday, May 19 at 2:40 p.m. CT
Olympic silver medalist and 2018 Big Ten diver of the year Steele Johnson is fresh off his NCAA title in 3-meter to lead the field this week. Another Olympic silver medalist, Michael Hixon, who wrapped up his career at Indiana by winning the NCAA 1-meter title, won the 3-meter at the USA Diving winter nationals. Also competing is Briadam Herrera, who won the 1-meter title at the USA Diving winter nationals and is a two-time national champion on 1-meter as well as the 2017 national champion in mixed synchronized 3-meter.

Women’s 3-meter Springboard

Final: Sunday, May 20 at 1:40 p.m. CT
Some of the country’s top 2020 Olympic hopefuls will be competing in the women’s springboard. Maria Coburn won the USA Diving 2017 national championship, scoring a personal best 328.55, and she’s already won the 3-meter mixed synchro title at this meet, qualifying her for the FINA World Cup. Brooke Schultz is coming off an incredible freshman diving campaign at Arkansas, winning an NCAA national title in the 3-meter to go along with her SEC titles in the 1- and 3-meter. She was named SEC diver of the year and freshman diver of the year. She also won the 3-meter title at the 2017 winter nationals. Sarah Bacon, a five-time junior national champion and sophomore at Minnesota who won the NCAA national title in the 1-meter this year, will also compete, along with Daria Lenz, who took bronze in 3-meter at the USA Diving winter nationals.

Men’s 3-meter Synchro

Final: Thursday, May 17 at 4 p.m. CT
Dorman and Hixon are the prohibitive favorites, coming in as the defending Olympic silver medalists. They’re also coming off a bronze medal at the FINA Diving World Series stop in Montreal at the end of April. They were sixth at last year’s world championships. 

Women’s 3-meter Synchro

Final: Friday, May 18 at 4 p.m. CT
Bacon, Coburn and Schultz are all slated to compete in the synchro event. Bacon and Schultz will compete together, though Bacon will also compete with Kristen Hyden and Schultz with Murphy Bromberg. Coburn is competing with Alison Gibson, who is also on a team with Krysta Palmer.

Men’s 10-meter Platform

Final: Sunday, May 20 at 12 p.m. CT (NBC)
David Dinsmore was the top American in this event at the 2017 world championships, finishing sixth. He was 15th in his debut at the world championships in 2015. Brandon Loschiavo won the Big Ten title on 10-meter this season.

Women’s 10-meter Platform

Final: Saturday, May 19 at 1 p.m. CT (NBC)
A trio of Olympians highlight the field in women’s platform diving. Amy Cozad Magaña finished seventh in synchro at the 2016 Olympicss and in 2015 finished sixth individually at the world championships, the best finish by a U.S. diver since 2007. Her Olympic synchro partner in 2016, Jessica Parratto, also finished 10th individually in Rio. Katrina Young was 13th there. They’ll be joined by a number of 2020 hopefuls including Tarrin Gilliand, who at 13 was the youngest diver to compete at the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Trials for Diving. Now 15, she was the champion at the USA Diving winter nationals, winning her first gold medal at a senior competition. Olivia Rosendahl was the silver medalist in 10-meter at winter nationals then won the NCAA championship in platform and was named Big Ten diver of the year. Daria Lenz will also compete in 10-meter as well as 3-meter.

Men’s 10-meter Synchro

Final: Friday, May 18 at 4 p.m. CT
Johnson and Loschiavo, teammates at Purdue, are the sole entry. They won bronze at the FINA World Series in Montreal last month as well as the 2017 USA Diving Synchronized National Championships.

Women’s 10-meter Synchro

Final: Thursday, May 17 at 4 p.m. CT
Parratto and Gilliland paired up to finish fifth in the event at the World Series stop in Montreal. Young is competing with Rosendahl in Dallas, with the final team consisting of Christy Cutshaw and Julia Wortman.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.