By Karen Price | July 18, 2018, 11:59 p.m. (ET)
Chloe Kim accepts the award for Best Female Athlete at the 2018 ESPYs on July 18, 2018 in Los Angeles.


Chloe Kim and Shaun White captivated the world this past winter when they gave the U.S. a gold-medal sweep in halfpipe snowboarding at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018.

On Wednesday they had yet another sweep, winning ESPY awards in the categories of best female and male Olympians. Kim was just 17 in February and won in dominating fashion under a tremendous amount of pressure as the gold-medal favorite, while White made history by winning his third gold medal at the age of 31 on his last run of the event.

Kim also won for best female action sports athlete and best female athlete, while White won the award for best Olympic moment.

They were among a number of Olympians who went home with trophies honoring their performances in PyeongChang.

Two-time Olympic gold medalist Mikaela Shiffrin and Olympic bronze medalist Adam Rippon presented the award for best game to the U.S. women’s ice hockey team for its win over Canada to claim the Olympic gold medal for the first time in 20 years.

The U.S. team beat out Georgia versus Oklahoma in the Rose Bowl and Game 5 of the World Series between the Houston Astros and the Los Angeles Dodgers.


The 2018 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team accepts its award at the 2018 ESPYs on July 18, 2018 in Los Angeles.


David Wise, who successfully defended his gold medal in halfpipe skiing in PyeongChang, won his first ESPY for best male action sports athlete.

Mike Schultz and Brenna Huckaby won the awards for best male and female athlete with a disability, respectively, after their performances at the Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018. Schultz, who also designs prosthetics for action sports athletes, won gold in snowboardcross and silver in banked slalom, and Huckaby won gold in both snowboardcross and banked slalom. Both were competing at the Paralympic Games for the first time.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

It was a great night for Team USA's summer athletes as well, including Youth Olympian Arike Ogunbowale. Ogunbowale was honored for best play, as her dramatic buzzer beater helped her Notre Dame Fighting Irish women’s basketball team win the national championship.

Two-time Olympian Megan Rapinoe, who won gold with the U.S. women’s soccer team in 2012, won the award for best National Women’s Soccer League player.

Two-time Olympic gold medalist Maya Moore took home the award for best WNBA player after helping the Minnesota Lynx win the championship last season. Fellow two-time gold medalist LeBron James took home the equivalent award for the NBA.

Two-time Olympic gold medalist Kevin Durant was named the Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian of the Year.

Olympian Sloane Stephens, the 2017 US Open champ, won for best female tennis player.

To close the show, more than 150 sexual abuse survivors were honored with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, with gymnasts Aly Raisman and Sarah Klein and softball player Tiffany Thomas Lopez speaking on stage after accepting the award. The gymnasts spoke out about sexual abuse by longtime national team and Michigan State doctor Larry Nassar. In February, dozens of victims provided emotional testimony at Nassar's sentencing.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.