Home News Katie Zaferes, Vince...

Katie Zaferes, Vincent Hancock And U.S. National Wheelchair Rugby Team Earn Best Of June Honors For Team USA Awards

By United States Olympic Committee | July 10, 2018, 1:33 p.m. (ET)

(L-R) Katie Zaferes, the U.S. national wheelchair rugby team and Vincent Hancock earned Best of June honors for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow.


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Standout performances during June earned shooting athlete Vincent Hancock (Eatonton, Georgia), triathlete Katie Zaferes (Santa Cruz, California) and the U.S. National Wheelchair Rugby Team Best of June honors for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

Hancock won his third straight skeet gold medal at the ISSF World Cup in Siggiewi, Malta. The two-time Olympic champion is undefeated in skeet this season and has earned 19 career world cup medals, including 10 golds. Hancock briefly slipped into second place after the qualification round, but rallied to hit 20-straight targets for a total of 56 hits to claim gold in the final round. 

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

Zaferes claimed the No. 1 ranking in the ITU World Triathlon Series after earning the bronze medal at the fourth series stop in Leeds, England. Her bronze medal marked her third consecutive podium finish on the ITU World Triathlon Series circuit following a bike crash in the season-opening event in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. The Rio Olympian is the only woman to medal in three of this season’s four races.

The No. 2-ranked U.S. national team earned gold at the 2018 International Wheelchair Rugby Canada Cup after its 56-53 victory over Japan in Richmond, British Columbia. The team’s 6-0 record for the tournament included wins over Australia (54-51) and Japan (51-50, 56-53) who came into the event ranked No. 1 and No. 3 in the world, respectively. The Eagles registered more than 50 points in all six games.

In addition to Dow, the presenting sponsor, the Team USA Awards are supported by DICK’S Sporting Goods and USG.

About the Team USA Awards
Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. An internal nominating committee selects five nominees from both the male and female categories, and three from the team category to advance to the voting round. Votes received from NGB representatives and select members of the media account for 50 percent of the final tally, with the other half determined by online fan voting via TeamUSA.org/Awards.

Related Athletes

head shot

Adam Scaturro

head shot

Chad Cohn

head shot

Chuck Aoki

Wheelchair Rugby
head shot

Chuck Melton

head shot

Ernie Chun

head shot

Jeff Butler

head shot

Joe Delagrave

head shot

Josh Wheeler

head shot

Lee Fredette

head shot

Robert Deller

head shot

Vincent Hancock

Shotgun Shooting
head shot

Katie Zaferes