Home News Chase Kalisz Remains...

Chase Kalisz Remains Unbeaten In 400 IM After Win At Pro Swim Series In Columbus

By Paul D. Bowker | July 07, 2018, 9:05 p.m. (ET)

Chase Kalisz competes in the men's 200-meter individual medley final at the TYR Pro Swim Series on April 13, 2018 in Mesa, Ariz.


Chase Kalisz extended his unbeaten season Saturday night.

Kalisz, a 2016 Olympian and the 2017 world champion in both the 200- and 400-meter individual medleys, completed an unbeaten TYR Pro Swim Series season in the 400 IM with a winning time of 4:15.16 in Saturday’s session at Ohio State University in Columbus.

Kalisz enters the final night of the Pro Swim Series season with a two-point lead in the men’s standings. He also won the 200 breaststroke on Friday night.

This week’s meet is the final preparation prior to the Phillips 66 National Championships, which begin July 25 in Irvine, California, followed by the Pan Pacific Championships in August. The national championships are a part of the Team USA Summer Champions Series, presented by Xfinity.

Three other Americans notched their second wins of the meet.

Blake Pieroni, a 2016 Olympic relay gold medalist, followed up his win in the men’s 100 freestyle on Friday by taking first in the 200 freestyle in 1:48.08. Michael Andrew won the men’s 50-meter freestyle in 21.70 seconds after winning the 100 butterfly on Friday.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

Leah Smith, a two-time medalist at the Rio Games, began her night by winning the women’s 400 IM with a time of 4:37.64. It was also her second win in two nights after taking first in the 400 freestyle on Friday.

The most dramatic race of the night featured Allison Schmitt, an eight-time Olympic medalist, finishing runner-up to Hong Kong’s Siobhan Haughey by one-hundredth of one second in the women’s 200-meter freestyle. Schmitt finished the race in 1:57.21. Smith finished third with a season-best time of 1:57.41.

In other races, Margo Geer won the women’s 50 free in 24.82 seconds, beating out Olympic relay gold medalist Kelsi (Worrell) Dahlia by 17-hundredths of one second. Asia Seidt won the women's 200 backstroke in 2:08.91.

Paul D. Bowker has been writing about Olympic sports since 1996, when he was an assistant bureau chief in Atlanta. He is sports editor of the Cape Cod Times and a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Chase Kalisz

head shot

Blake Pieroni

head shot

Leah Smith

head shot

Allison Schmitt

head shot

Kelsi Worrell