Team USA’s Four Olympic Events To Watch On Saturday, Feb. 24

By Stuart Lieberman | Feb. 23, 2018, 11:50 a.m. (ET)
Red Gerard competes in the men's big air snowboarding qualification at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Feb. 21, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea.

 

In the penultimate day of competition in PyeongChang, the U.S. will play in its first Olympic curling final on Saturday, Feb. 24, while viewers can expect to be enticed by a new slate of events in snowboarding, alpine skiing and speedskating.

Here are four of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Curling – Men's Gold-Medal Match

Team USA, led by skip and four-time Olympian John Shuster, will play in its first curling gold-medal match in Olympic history. Joined on the ice by Tyler George, Matt Hamilton and John Landsteiner, the group will face Sweden and has already helped the U.S. guarantee its best-ever finish in the sport. The country’s only current curling medal came in 2006 at the Torino Olympics. The U.S. finished second to last four years ago in Sochi and last place four years prior in Vancouver, winning four matches combined at those last two Games. Canada will not be playing in the gold-medal match for the first time since 1998 after losing to the U.S. in the semifinals.

When: 3:35 p.m. Korea/1:35 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN


2. Snowboarding – Men's Big Air

The Americans have a chance to sweep the podium here with three athletes in the final, including 17-year-old Red Gerard, who won Team USA’s first gold medal of these Games in slopestyle nearly two weeks ago. Gerard already flew back to the U.S. for a few days to do a quick media tour before returning to PyeongChang to qualify for the big air final. He’ll be joined by teammates Chris Corning, 18, and Kyle Mack, 20, both of whom also placed in the top six in their qualifying heat on Wednesday in the event’s Olympic debut. Riders are judged on difficulty, execution, amplitude and landing, with a final score from 1 to 100. They each have three jumps and their top two scores count.

When: 10 a.m. Korea/8 p.m. ET (Friday)

Watch: NBC

 

3. Alpine Skiing – Team Event

While this event has been part of the world championships program since 2005, it will be making its debut at the Olympics. Sixteen countries with two men’s and two women’s skiers each will compete in head-to-head slalom racing with nations advancing in a bracket system. Teams get one point for a win. If competing teams each win two races, then the country with the lowest combined time from their best man and best woman will win the heat. The winning team in the final round will take the gold. The U.S. team is comprised of David Chodounsky, Mark Engel and Nolan Kasper as the men’s skiers, and Megan McJames, Tricia Mangan and Alice Merryweather for the women.

When: 11 a.m. Korea/9 p.m. ET (Friday)

Watch: NBC

 

4. Long Track Speedskating – Women's And Men's Mass Start

The mass start discipline will return to the Olympics for the first time since 1932 at the Lake Placid Games. It’s long track’s version of NASCAR on ice, filled with spills, pushes, elbows and strategy. Following three semifinals, 24 skaters will line up for the final. Two-time Olympian Joey Mantia is the reigning men’s world champion in this event; he finished fourth and eighth in PyeongChang already in the 1,000- and 1,500-meter, respectively. Heather Bergsma, who helped the U.S to a bronze medal in the women’s team pursuit just a few days ago, is the top American hopeful for a medal on the women’s side; she earned bronze at worlds last year.

When: 8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

Snowboarding – Men’s Parallel Giant Slalom (9:27 a.m. Korea/7:27 p.m. ET Friday)
AJ Muss and Michael Trapp are making their Olympic debuts. Muss has finished sixth twice this season on the world cup circuit, while Trapp had two top-eight world cup finishes last season.

Cross-Country Skiing – Men’s 50-Kilometer Mass Start Classic (2 p.m. Korea/12 a.m. ET)
The marathon of the Winter Games takes about two hours to complete; representing the U.S. in the 71-man field will be Scott Patterson, Noah Hoffman and Tyler Kornfield.

 

Stuart Lieberman covered Paralympic sports for three years at the International Paralympic Committee, including at the London 2012 and Sochi 2014 Games. He is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc. 

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.