By Joanne C. Gerstner | Feb. 21, 2018, 10:46 a.m. (ET)
David Wise competes in the men's halfpipe skiing qualification at the Olympic Winter Games on Feb. 20, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea.

 

Some big showdowns of star power come on Thursday, Feb. 22, with Americans Lindsey Vonn and Mikaela Shiffrin competing in the women’s combined, while Team USA takes on Canada for gold in women’s ice hockey.

Here are three of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Ice Hockey – Women's Gold-Medal Game

Yep, the match-up of all match-ups in women’s hockey is on tap – yet again – the U.S. versus Canada for Olympic gold, this time at Gangneung Hockey Centre. The two teams are very familiar with each other, and the games are always tense and high-level. Team USA won the inaugural women's Olympic hockey tournament in 1998 and has medaled at each Games since, but is hungry to return to the top step of the podium 20 years after that historic day. The U.S. women are four-time reigning world champions and are trying to stop Canada from its fifth straight Olympic gold.

When: 1:10 p.m. Korea/11:10 p.m. ET (Wednesday)

Watch: NBC


2. Freestyle Skiing – Men's Halfpipe

The U.S. team has all four skiers in the final: Aaron Blunck, Torin Yater-Wallace, David Wise and Alex Ferreira. They owned qualifying, with Blunck, Ferreira and Yater-Wallace sitting 1-2-3 after two rounds. Any of the four are capable of winning on any given day, creating for multiple medal potential for Team USA. The field of 12 comes in fresh for the final two rounds, with all scores erased. Wise is the reigning Olympic gold medalist in halfpipe . Look for big tricks, and big scores, in the final.

When: 11:30 a.m. Korea/9:30 p.m. ET (Wednesday)

Watch: NBCSN

 

3. Alpine Skiing – Women's Combined

Weather conditions have moved this event up by a day, which forced American star Mikaela Shiffin to make some tough decisions. She dropped competing in the downhill for this event, hoping to be fresher for the challenge. Lindsey Vonn, who won bronze in Wednesday’s downhill, will also be on the hill for Team USA. The combined is a true technical test, as racers do the slalom and downhill courses for a best total time. PyeongChang downhill gold medalist Sofia Goggia of Italy is in the field, but slalom gold medalist Frida Hansdotter of Sweden is not. The U.S. has taken a medal in the past two Games, thanks to the now-retired Julia Mancuso.

When: 11:30 a.m. Korea/9:30 p.m. ET (Wednesday)

Watch: NBC

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

• Snowboarding – Women’s Big Air (9:30 a.m. Korea/7:30 p.m. ET Wednesday)
Three Americans made it to the 12-rider final, including two-time slopestyle gold medalist Jamie Anderson.

• Alpine Skiing – Men’s Slalom (1:45 pm. Korea/11:45 p.m. ET Wednesday)
Americans David Chodounsky, Mark Engel, and Nolan Kasper are in the 108-skier field.

• Nordic Combined – Men’s Team 4x5-kilometer (7 p.m. Korea/5 a.m. ET)
Who’s up for some ski jumping, followed by a cross-country relay race? Ben Berend, Ben Loomis, and the brother team of Bryan and Taylor Fletcher are Team USA’s entry. 

Biathlon – Women’s 4x6-kilometer (8:15 p.m. Korea/6:15 a.m. ET)
This is the last women’s biathlon event of the PyeongChang Games.

Joanne C. Gerstner has covered two Olympic Games and writes regularly for The New York Times and other outlets about sports. She has written for TeamUSA.org since 2009 as a freelance contributor on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.