By Stuart Lieberman | Feb. 17, 2018, 10:58 a.m. (ET)
Ted Ligety competes in the men's super-G at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Feb. 16, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea.

 

After household names Lindsey Vonn and Nathan Chen failed to make the podium on Saturday, Team USA will look to rebound on Sunday with Gus Kenworthy, Nick Goepper and Ted Ligety hoping to repeat their Olympic medal performances from four years ago on the slopes.

Here are three of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Freestyle Skiing – Men's Slopestyle

Four years ago, Joss Christensen, Gus Kenworthy and Nick Goepper gave the U.S. its third ever Olympic podium sweep when this event made its Olympic debut in Sochi. Silver medalist Kenworthy and bronze medalist Goepper are both medal contenders in their second Olympics after qualifying on the final day of the selection period. Within the last two days in PyeongChang, Goepper shared his battle with depression with media and Kenworthy broke his thumb in practice, but both are still on track to compete as planned. Joining them are McRae Williams, reigning word champion, and Alex Hall, 2016 Youth Olympic silver medalist. 

When: 1:15 p.m. Korea/11:15 p.m. ET (Saturday)

Watch: NBC


2. Alpine Skiing – Men's Giant Slalom

Four-time Olympian Ted Ligety is the defending Olympic champion and a three-time world champion in giant slalom, but he’ll have to fend off Austria’s Marcel Hirscher, who’s fresh off his first Olympic gold in the alpine combined. Already in PyeongChang, Ligety, 33, took fifth in the alpine combined and failed to finish his super-G run. Tommy Ford, Tim Jitloff and Ryan Cochran-Siegle — the sixth member of his family to be an Olympian — will also represent Team USA.

When: 1:45 p.m. Korea/11:45 p.m. ET (Saturday)

Watch: NBC

 

3. Freestyle Skiing – Men's Aerials

Jon Lillis, 23, the surprise winner at the 2017 world championships, was also the surprise top qualifier on Saturday with an overall score of 127.44. The only American to finish in the top 12 and advance to the finals, Lillis will look to become the first U.S. man to medal in the event at the Olympics sinc the late Jeret “Speedy” Peterson took silver in 2010. With him, he’ll be carrying the memory of his brother, Michael, who passed away suddenly in October at the age of 17.

When: 8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. ET

Watch: NBC

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

Cross-Country Skiing - Men’s 4x10-kilometer (3:15 p.m. Korea/1:15 a.m. ET)
The U.S. men’s team, which placed 11th in Sochi, will take another stab at ending the nation’s 42-year Olympic medal drought in cross-country skiing

• Long Track Speedskating - Women’s 500-meter (8:56 p.m. Korea/6:56 a.m. ET)
Heather Bergsma and Brittany Bowe will look to become the first American women to medal in the event since Bonnie Blair claimed a third consecutive gold over 500 meters at the 1994 Games.

Stuart Lieberman covered Paralympic sports for three years at the International Paralympic Committee, including at the London 2012 and Sochi 2014 Games. He is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.