By Laurence Heinen | Feb. 16, 2018, 10:38 a.m. (ET)
Lindsey Vonn attends the 100 Days Out celebration ahead of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Nov. 1, 2017 in New York City.

 

The schedule for Saturday, Feb. 17 in PyeongChang is jam packed with medal events for competitors on skis, skates and sleds.

Here are four of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Alpine Skiing – Women's Super-G

Although it’s not her best event, Lindsey Vonn is definitely a threat to win a medal in the women’s super-G. After all, she has a win to her credit in December in Val d’Isère, France. After missing the 2014 Sochi Games altogether due to injury, Vonn will be looking to return to the form that saw her win bronze at the 2010 Vancouver Games in super-G. Due to postponements of the slalom and giant slalom races because of strong winds, Mikaela Shiffrin decided to skip this event to concentrate on preparing for the downhill and combined events next week.

When: 11 a.m. Korea/9 p.m. ET (Friday)

Watch: NBC


2. Freestyle Skiing – Women's Slopestyle

Devin Logan hopes to celebrate her 25th birthday in (slope)style on Saturday by making a return to the podium like she did when the freestyle skiing event made its Olympic debut at the 2014 Sochi Games. Meanwhile, teammate Maggie Voisin will be looking for her first Olympic medal. Voisin made the 2014 Olympic team but was never able to compete as she was injured before competition even started. Now 19, Voisin has since proven herself a medal threat time and time again. They’re joined by Caroline Claire and Darian Stevens.

When: 1 p.m. Korea/11 p.m. ET (Friday)

Watch: NBC

 

3. Cross-Country Skiing – Women's 4x5-kilometer

With two fifth-place showings and a sixth so far, Jessie Diggins has come up just short of her goal of becoming the first U.S. woman to win a medal in cross-country skiing. Now, Team USA is hoping to end that drought as a whole in perhaps its strongest event. Sophie Caldwell, Sadie Bjornsen, Kikkan Randall and Diggins will race in the women’s 4x5-kilometer. After Caldwell and Bjornsen race the opening two classic technique legs, Randall and Diggins will close out on the final two freestyle technique spots. After finishing fourth in each of the last three world championships, the U.S. women will be looking to reach the podium in PyeongChang.

When: 6:30 p.m. Korea/4:30 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

Figure Skating – Men’s (10 a.m. Korea/8 p.m. ET Friday)
Adam Rippon is the top American in seventh spot after scoring 87.95 points with his short program. Meanwhile, Vincent Zhou is in 12th after posting an international personal-best 84.53, while Nathan Chen struggled to a disappointing 17th-place showing at 82.27.


Short Track Speedskating – Women’s 1,500-meter (7 p.m. Korea/5 a.m. ET)
Americans Jessica Kooreman, Lana Gehring and Maame Biney are in the 36-competitor field.

• Short Track Speedskating – Men’s 1,000-meter (7:44 p.m. Korea/5:44 a.m. ET)
After winning his heat on Tuesday, John-Henry Krueger hopes to continue to advance through the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds to Saturday’s final.

• Skeleton – Women’s (8:20 p.m. Korea/6:20 a.m. ET)
Four-time Olympian Katie Uhlaender, who finished fourth at the 2014 Sochi Games, is the top-ranked American competitor at No. 12 after rhe first two heats, while Kendall Wesenberg is 17th in her Olympic debut.

• Ski Jumping – Men’s Large Hill (9:30 p.m. Korea/7:30 a.m. ET)br /> Kevin Bickner will be looking to improve upon his 18th-place showing in the normal hill event last Saturday. He is joined in the final by Michael Glasder. 

Laurence Heinen became a sportswriter after attending the 1988 Winter Games in his hometown of Calgary, Alberta, Canada. He is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.