Home News Team USA’s Three Oly...

Team USA’s Three Olympic Events To Watch On Friday, Feb. 16

By Joanne C. Gerstner | Feb. 15, 2018, 9:17 a.m. (ET)

Lindsey Jacobellis attends a press conference at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Feb. 8, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea. 

 

It’s all about the American women, speed and skis on Friday, Feb. 16 in PyeongChang; with Mikaela Shiffrin going for her next gold in slalom, while snowboardcross star Lindsey Jacboellis and aerialist Kiley McKinnon aim for their first Olympic titles.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Snowboarding – Snowboardcross

Lindsey Jacobellis, now in her fourth Olympics, is still the face of the U.S. snowboardcross team. She has won everything on tour – 10 X Games titles and five world championship gold medals, but one thing is still missing: Olympic gold. She won silver in 2006, and has crashed out in 2010 and 2014. She’s had a strong 2017-18 season, winning two world cup events. Jacobellis is both a sentimental and practical favorite to finally get to the top of the podium.

When: 12:15 p.m. Korea time/10:15 p.m. ET (Thursday)

Watch: NBCSN

 

2. Alpine Skiing – Women's Slalom

Paging Mikaela Shiffrin to the start house…the American has been the most dominant skier in the world this season, and already has a gold on the PyeongChang slopes in giant slalom. This is Shiffrin’s signature event, showcasing her superb technical skiing, and the one she won at 18 years old in 2014. She is again ranked No. 1 in the world and is looking strong to defend her Olympic title.

When: 10 a.m. Korea/9 p.m. ET (Thursday)

Watch: NBC

 

3. Freestyle Skiing – Women's Aerials

It’s one of the most breathtaking events in the Games – as in, you hold your breath in equal parts anticipation and a little freak out over what the aerialists are trying to pull off. Americans Kiley McKinnon and Madison Olsen are first-time Olympians, and now, first-time finalists. McKinnon is a little more experienced, winning silver at the 2015 world championships. Newcomer Madison Olsen was calm and strong during qualifying, and also could leave PyeongChang with a strong result.

When: 8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

• Alpine Skiing – Men’s Super-G (11 a.m. Korea/9 p.m. ET Thursday)
Andrew Weibrecht won bronze in 2010 and silver in 2014. Could he upgrade to gold this time?

 

• Long Track Speedskating – Women’s 5,000-meter (8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. ET)
The Dutch are having another epic Olympics in speedskating, but American Carlijin Schoutens – who previously skated in the Netherlands – hopes to medal.

 

Skeleton – Men’s (9:30 a.m. Korea/7:30 p.m. ET Thursday)
Matt Antoine and John Daly are sitting 11th and 13th heading into the final two runs.

 

Joanne C. Gerstner has covered two Olympic Games and writes regularly for The New York Times and other outlets about sports. She has written for TeamUSA.org since 2009 as a freelance contributor on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.