Team USA’s Three Olympic Events To Watch On Thursday, Feb. 15

By Joanne C. Gerstner | Feb. 14, 2018, 10:38 a.m. (ET)
Lowell Bailey competes in the men's 12.5-kilometer pursuit at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Feb.12, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea.

 

We know you can’t change the weather, but can we hope for a break to allow the alpine skiers to compete? The answer, hopefully, will be yes on Thursday, Feb. 15.

Here are three of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.


1. Alpine Skiing – Women's Giant Slalom

Mother Nature has been meddling in the Olympics, thanks to dangerously high winds on course, to do the one thing not possible by humans: keep U.S. superstar Mikaela Shiffrin off the mountain. This will be the first time she gets to compete for a medal on the Alpensia course, after a three-day weather/scheduling delay in giant slalom. Shiffrin says she is rested and ready to go. Americans Megan McJames, Tricia Mangan and Resi Steigler are also part of the 81-skier start list.

When: 1:15 p.m. Korea/11:15 p.m. ET (Wednesday)

Watch: NBC


2. Biathlon – Men's 20-kilometer Individual

The wind has also messed with the biathlon schedule and made the course and shooting quite challenging. American Lowell Bailey, competing in his fourth Olympics, is looking to challenge for a medal, which would be the first for Team USA in Olympic history. He dominated and won the 2017 world championship in the individual, against much of the same field that he will face today at the Alpensia Biathlon Center, making him the first U.S. biathlon world champion.

When: 8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN

 

3. Luge – Team Relay

This is one of the more fun, and unique, events to see. It debuted as a medal sport in Sochi, allowing each country to field a team of three sleds: women’s singles, men’s singles and a doubles. The women lead off. As soon as the female slider crosses the finish, she hits a touchpad to open the starting gate at the top for the male slider to go. And the process repeats through the doubles team. The Germans are the defending champs. But Team USA won silver at last year’s worlds and are looking to contend for a medal in PyeongChang just days after Chris Mazdzer’s men’s silver and Summer Britcher’s track record for the women.

When: 9:30 p.m. Korea/7:30 a.m. ET

Watch: NBCSN

 

Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

Figure Skating – Pairs (10:30 a.m. Korea/8:30 p.m. ET Wednesday)
Married couple Alexa Scimeca-Knierim and Chris Knierim are the lone U.S. team competing and they sit in 14th after the short program.


Snowboarding – Men’s Snowboardcross (1:30 p.m. Korea/11:30 p.m. ET Wednesday)
The U.S. has medaled at every Games since the event made its debut in 2006, and Nick Baumgartner, Jonathan Cheever, Mick Dierdorff, and Hagen Kearney are looking to keep that streak going.

• Cross-Country Skiing – Women’s 10-kilometer Free (3:30 p.m. Korea/1:30 a.m. ET)
Jessie Diggins won silver in this event at the 2015 world championships and is hungry to become the first U.S. woman to win an Olympic medal.

Joanne C. Gerstner has covered two Olympic Games and writes regularly for The New York Times and other outlets about sports. She has written for TeamUSA.org since 2009 as a freelance contributor on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.