Home News Team USA’s Three Oly...

Team USA’s Three Olympic Events To Watch On Sunday, Feb. 11

By Joanne C. Gerstner | Feb. 10, 2018, 11:32 a.m. (ET)

Keaton Mccargo competes in the women's freestyle skiing moguls qualification at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 on Feb. 9, 2018 in PyeongChang, South Korea. 

 

The action shifts to speed and finding aggressive lines Sunday at the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, with Americans taking on finals to win medals in some signature events of daring.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

Here are three of the events you’ll want to be sure to watch:


1. Snowboarding – Men’s Slopestyle

Colorado native Red Gerard isn’t old enough to vote yet, at only 17, but he has a shot to win his first Olympic medal. He’s already making history as the youngest U.S. male snowboarder ever, and could now become the youngest American to win a snowboarding medal. He finished fourth in Saturday’s Olympic qualification, and was the only American advancing to the final. Gerard showed trademark creativity in his first competition runs in Phoenix Snow Park. His main competition, much like the X Games a few weeks ago in Aspen, will be Markus Kleveland of Norway and Canadians Mark McMorris and Max Parrot.

When: 10 a.m. Korea/8 p.m. E.T. (Saturday)

TV: NBC


2. Freestyle Skiing – Women’s Moguls

The U.S. would love to take all three medals in this event, and finalists Morgan Schild, Jaelin Kauf and Keaton McCargo are in strong contention. Schild was the highest qualifier, in third, with the other two Americans in the top eight. Kauf, who lives in Park City, Utah, has been turning heads with her speed this season. She came into PyeongChang ranked No. 1 in the world and has been on the world cup podium four times this season, while Schild accomplished that feat twice. American Tess Johnson has an outside shot to reach the final, as she will be in Sunday’s second round of qualification to grab one of the final spots for the finals.

When: 9 p.m. Korea/7 a.m. E.T

TV: NBCSN


3. Men’s Singles Luge

The track at the Olympic Sliding Centre was fast and rough Saturday evening, and Chris Mazdzer used his experience in the first set of runs to put himself into medal contention, sitting in fourth halfway through the event. This is his third Olympics, and he will face off against a field rich with Austrian and German superstars for his first Olympic podium – and the first one for an American in men’s singles.

When: 8 p.m. Korea/6 a.m. E.T.

TV: NBCSN


Medals Will Also Be Awarded In:

Cross-Country Skiing – Men’s Skiathlon (3:15 p.m. Korea/1:15 a.m. E.T.)

Americans Scott Patterson, Erik Bjornsen, Patrick Caldwell and Noah Hoffman are in the 68-skier field.

Long Track Speedskating – Men’s 5,000-meter (4 p.m. Korea/2 a.m. E.T)

Watch for lone U.S. entry Emery Lehman in this grueling event.

• Biathlon – Men’s 10-kilometer sprint (8:15 p.m. Korea/6:15 a.m. E.T.)

Will Lowell Bailey score the nation’s first-ever Olympic medal in biathlon?

  

For live video and highlights, head to the networks of NBC and NBCOlympics.com.