Home News Erin Hamlin Selected...

Erin Hamlin Selected As Team USA’s Flag Bearer For PyeongChang 2018

By United States Olympic Committee | Feb. 07, 2018, 8:01 p.m. (ET)


PYEONGCHANG, South Korea – Erin Hamlin, four-time Olympian and Olympic bronze medalist, has been selected as Team USA’s flag bearer for the Opening Ceremony of the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018, the United States Olympic Committee announced today. The Opening Ceremony will take place Friday, Feb. 9 at PyeongChang Olympic Stadium. Hamlin was chosen by a vote of fellow Team USA members.

Hamlin will become the fourth luger to serve as U.S. flag bearer, and the first since 2010.

A two-time world champion, Hamlin made history at the Olympic Winter Games Sochi 2014 when she became the first U.S. athlete to win an Olympic singles luge medal in the sport’s 50-year Olympic history. Hamlin’s historic medal broke a 34-year streak of luge Olympic podiums dominated solely by German and Austrian women, surprising the field as she had not finished on the world cup podium for the two years leading up to the Sochi Games.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

“Being named to an Olympic Team is an amazing accomplishment, and making four teams and winning the bronze medal is so much more than I could I have imagined I would accomplish. Now being voted flag bearer is a whole new level,” said Hamlin. “Working hard and earning success is one thing, being acknowledged as a great representative and member of Team USA by fellow athletes – many who I have been inspired by – is above and beyond anything I’ve experienced. It is definitely a privilege and honor to be the one to lead the team and will be a very special moment. I can’t wait to share it with them all!”

The women’s luge competition will get underway on Feb. 12, when Hamlin will look to add another medal to her collection.

Hamlin will wear Polo Ralph Lauren’s Team USA Opening Ceremony heated parka, featuring wearable technology with a seamlessly integrated heating system and done in a white colorway exclusively for the flag bearer. Building off the introduction of the illuminated flag bearer jacket that debuted at Rio 2016, Ralph Lauren is committed to supporting Team USA’s athletes by outfitting them with the latest innovative apparel technology. As an Official Outfitter of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic teams since 2008, Ralph Lauren provides iconic parade uniforms and an inspired commemorative apparel collection to Team USA. In celebration of PyeongChang 2018, Ralph Lauren is proud to announce a $500,000 donation to the USOC, to support the development of America’s brightest athletes as they live, work and train.



1924 Clarence Abel, Ice Hockey
1928 Godfrey Dewey, President, Lake Placid Organizing Committee
1932 William Fiske III, Bobsled
1936 Rolf Monsen, Nordic Skiing
1948 John Heaton, Bobsled
1952 James Bickford, Bobsled
1956 James Bickford, Bobsled
1960 Donald McDermott, Speedskating
1964 William Disney, Speedskating
1968 Richard McDermott, Speedskating
1972 Dianne Holum, Speedskating
1976 Cynthia Nelson, Alpine Skiing
1980 Scott Hamilton, Figure Skating
1984 Frank Masley, Luge
1988 Lyle Nelson, Biathlon
1992 Bill Koch, Cross-Country Skiing
1994 Cammy Myler, Luge
1998 Eric Flaim, Speedskating
2002 Amy Peterson, Speedskating
2006 Chris Witty, Speedskating
2010 Mark Grimmette, Luge
2014 Todd Lodwick, Nordic Skiing

Related Athletes

head shot

Erin Hamlin