Home News Noah Lyles, Dalilah ...

Noah Lyles, Dalilah Muhammad, Fred Kerley Win Diamond Trophies On Day 1 Of Diamond League Finals

By Karen Price | Aug. 30, 2018, 4 p.m. (ET)

Fred Kerley competes in the men's 400-meter during at the IAAF Diamond League on Aug. 18, 2018 in Birmingham, U.K.


Noah Lyles, the fastest man in the world this season in the 200-meter, was one of three U.S. athletes to win Diamond Trophies on day one of the two-day Diamond League Finals on Thursday in Zurich, Switzerland.

Olympic champion Dalilah Muhammad in the women’s 400-meter hurdles and Fred Kerley in the men’s 400-meter also claimed trophies and the $50,000 prize awarded in each event. Competition will resume with another 16 champions to be crowned Friday in Brussels, Belgium.

Lyles once again proved unbeatable by winning the 200-meter trophy with a time of 19.67 seconds, easily holding off Turkey’s Ramil Guliyev’s time of 19.98. Lyles, who earlier this summer became the youngest national champion in 34 years in the 100-meter, was just barely off his world mark of 19.65 seconds set in Monaco in July and the meet record of 19.66 seconds set by Usain Bolt in 2012.

Lyles has broken 19.7 seconds four times this season – a feat previously only reached by Usain Bolt, in 2009.

The 2014 Youth Olympic champion also became the youngest Diamond Trophy winner in the 200-meter last year at the age of 20.

“I came here to go for the win,” Lyles said. “I did it. I am very happy.”

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today. 

The U.S. placed three in the top four in the women’s 400-meter hurdles, with Muhammad winning the title with a time of 53.88 seconds, followed by 2018 U.S. champion Shamier Little in second in 54.21. Olympian Georganne Moline was fourth.  

The U.S. also placed three in the top four in the men’s 400-meter. Kerley, who won two Diamond League events earlier in the season, was crowned champion with a time of 44.80 seconds, with teammate Nathan Strother just behind him in second with a time of 44.93. Paul Dedewo finished fourth.

Olympic champion Ryan Crouser and New Zealand’s Tomas Walsh were right in the mix in men’s shot put, as was expected, but another American edged his way up as well. Walsh won with a meet record and Diamond League record throw of 22.60 meters while Darrell Hill threw a season’s best 22.40 meters to finish in second place. Crouser came in third with a best throw of 22.18. 

In the women’s 800-meter, Team USA’s Ajee Wilson came closest to South Africa’s Caster Semenya, but the reigning world and Olympic champion captured her third straight Diamond Trophy with a time of 1:55.27. Wilson, an Olympian and U.S. champion, was second in 1:57.86. 

Olympic silver medalist Sandi Morris took second in the women’s pole vault with a best jump of 4.82 meters, Olympian Kara Winger had a season’s best throw of 64.75 meters to finish third in the women’s javelin, and Olympic silver medalist Evan Jager finished third in the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 8:13.22.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Ajeé Wilson

head shot

Evan Jager

head shot

Ryan Crouser

head shot

Sandi Morris

head shot

Dalilah Muhammad

head shot

Shamier Little

head shot

Georganne Moline

head shot

Kara Winger