By Karen Price | Aug. 06, 2018, 8 a.m. (ET)
Danielle O'Toole pitches at the WBSC Women's Softball World Championship on Aug. 3, 2018 in Chiba, Japan.


The U.S. softball team continued its march through the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship preliminary round on Monday with a 12-0 win over the Philippines in Narita, Japan.

Pitcher Danielle O’Toole, the 2017 Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year for Arizona, made her first start ever at the world championship and threw a complete game shutout, striking out five and giving up just two hits to earn her first win (1-0). 

Haylie McCleney (Alabama ’16) was 3 for 4 with two runs scored, a double, a home run and four RBIs in the victory. She’s batting .636 in the tournament so far, second only to Japan’s Hitomi Kawabata, and she leads in runs scored with eight. 

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.

Ali Aguilar (Washington ’17) was 2 for 4 and Kasey Cooper (Auburn ’17) 2 for 2 while Valerie Arioto (California '12) was 1 for 2 with two RBIs and Aubree Munro (Florida ’16) was 1 for 2 with a home run and four RBIs. Kirsti Merritt (Florida ’16) walked three times and stole a base, while Cooper had a team-high three runs scored.

Arioto singled to left field to kick off what would become a five-run third inning for the U.S. She scored when Philippines pitcher Mia Macapagal walked Munro with the bases loaded. Macapagal would walk in another before Philippines made a pitching change but the lid was already off and it was 9-0 before Philippines would get out of the inning. 

The U.S. and Puerto Rico both remain undefeated in preliminary play in Group A at 5-0. The top four finishers in each group move on directly to the championship round that begins on Friday. Next up for the U.S. is 0-5 South Africa on Tuesday at 2:30 a.m. EDT.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.