By Paul D. Bowker | April 13, 2018, 12:01 a.m. (ET)
Nathan Adrian waits for the start of the 100-meter freestyle final at the Arena Pro Swim Series at Skyline Aquatic Center on April 13, 2017 in Mesa, Ariz.


Five For Friday: Boston Marathon

Five For Friday: Equestrian

Five For Friday: Field Hockey

Five For Friday: Gymnastics


Five-time Olympic gold medalist Nathan Adrian, three-time Olympic gold medalist Ryan Murphy and eight-time Olympic medalist Allison Schmitt lead a stacked field of swimmers in this week’s TYR Pro Swim Series in Mesa, Arizona.

The competition, which goes through Sunday at the Skyline Aquatic Center, is the third of six stops in the 2018 series.

Murphy, who made his Olympic debut at the Olympic Games Rio 2016 and won two individual gold medals plus another gold in a relay, is the top seed in the 50-, 100- and 200-meter men’s backstroke.

Adrian, a three-time Olympian with eight medals, is the top seed in the men’s 50 and 100 freestyle.

The women’s competition includes Schmitt, a three-time Olympian and four-time gold medalist who is the top seed in the 200 freestyle, and Leah Smith, a two-time Olympic medalist in Rio who is the top seed in the 400 and 800 free.

Want to learn to curl like the pros? Looking for breaking news, videos, Olympic and Paralympic team bios all at your fingertips? Download the Team USA app today.    

Other Olympians in the meet include two-time Olympic champion Conor Dwyer, who is the top seed in the men’s 200 free; 2016 Olympic gold medalist Tom Shields, who is the top seed in the men’s 50 and 100 butterfly; 2016 Olympic gold medalist Kevin Cordes, who is the top seed in the men’s 50 and 100 breaststroke; and Olympic silver medalist Josh Prenot, who is the top seed in the men’s 200 breaststroke and No. 2 in the 200 and 400 individual medley.

Following the opening day of competition on Thursday, finals are at 7:40 p.m. ET Friday and Saturday, followed by timed finals in the 1,500-meter freestyle Sunday morning at 11 ET.

The competition also includes the USA Swim Squads, using a team format with Olympic gold medalists Natalie Coughlin, Lenny Krayzelburg, Jason Lezak and Kaitlin Sandeno serving as team captains.

TV: 8 p.m. ET Saturday, NBC Sports Network; 8 p.m. Friday, Olympic Channel

Webcast prelims: Noon Friday and Saturday, 

Paul D. Bowker is a freelance contributor to on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.