Home News Olympic Champs Katie...

Olympic Champs Katie Ledecky, Maya Moore Named Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswomen Of The Year

By Karen Price | Oct. 18, 2017, 11:16 p.m. (ET)


Two-time Olympians Katie Ledecky and Maya Moore were named the Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswomen of the Year Wednesday night during the organization’s 38th Annual Salute to Women in Sports in New York City.

Ledecky was the winner in the individual sports category. Following the Olympic Games Rio 2016, in which she won four gold medals and one silver, the swimmer went on to post nine American-record performances and win five NCAA titles as a freshman while helping Stanford win a national championship. She then won six medals, including five golds, at the 2017 FINA World Championships to bring her total to a women’s-record 14 gold medals at the world championships.

The 20-year-old is the fifth swimmer to receive the award, following Amy Van Dyken (1996), Jenny Thompson (2000), Natalie Coughlin (2003) and Erin Popovich (2005).

Ledecky is a finalist for Female Olympic Athlete of the Year, presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods, for the 2017 Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Year. Voting continues through Oct. 30 at TeamUSA.org/Awards.

Moore won the award in the team sports category after being named the 2017 WNBA All-Star Game MVP and leading the Minnesota Lynx to their fourth WNBA championship. Moore averaged 17.3 points per game and shot 44.2 percent from the field in 34 games with the Lynx this season, and in 2016 won her second Olympic gold medal. She is one of just a few players to have won an Olympic gold medal, world championship gold, NCAA title and WNBA championship.

Moore, 28, is the eighth basketball player to earn the title, after Sheryl Swoopes (1993), Rebecca Lobo (1995), Teresa Edwards (1996), Cynthia Cooper (1998), Lisa Leslie (2001, 2003), Sue Bird (2002) and Candace Parker (2013).

The U.S. women’s national ice hockey team won the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award for their fight for equitable treatment including more funds for player development, marketing, travel and more training opportunities.

Dr. Condoleeza Rice received the Billie Jean King Leadership Award, given to an individual or group who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and made significant contributions to the advancement of women through achievements in sports and the workplace.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Katie Ledecky

head shot

Maya Moore