Home News U.S. Women Win All 5...

U.S. Women Win All 5 Final Races To Close Out Arena Pro Swim Series At Indianapolis

By Craig Bohnert | March 04, 2017, 10:11 p.m. (ET)

Melanie Margalis reacts after winning the women's 200-yard individual medley final at the 2016 AT&T Winter National Championships at McAuley Aquatic Center on Dec. 1, 2016 in Atlanta.


Team USA’s women dominated the final evening of the 2017 Arena Pro Series event Saturday at the Indiana University Natatorium in Indianapolis, racking up five wins and nine total podium spots. The men weren’t to be left out, earning five more top-three performances themselves, giving Team USA a grand total of 29 podium finishes over the three-day meet.

2016 Olympian Hali Flickinger got the evening off to a strong start, earning her second win of the 2017 Arena Pro Swim Series in the 200-meter butterfly with a 2:09.49 to lead a Team USA sweep. Continuing her rebound from a meniscus injury suffered playing flag football, Cassidy Bayer was 0.67 seconds behind in 2:10.16. Hannah Saiz, a 2013 NCAA champion for Kenyon College, rounded out the all-American podium at 2:11.32.

Olympian Molly Hannis continued the women’s winning ways in the 100-meter breaststroke, staging a comeback over the last 50 meters to overtake Olympic bronze medalist Katie Meili for the win in 1:06.47. Meili was 0.53 seconds back, while Iceland’s Hrafnhildur Luthersdottir was third in 1:07.94.

Ali DeLoof kept the wins coming for the U.S. women by taking the 100 backstroke in 59.82, 0.47 seconds ahead of Great Britain’s Jessica Fullalove and 0.96 up on Italy’s Federica Pellegrini, the 200-meter freestyle Olympic champion in Beijing.

Melanie Margalis, a member of the winning 4x200-meter team in Rio, recorded the world’s second fastest time this season to win the women’s 200-meter individual medley going away in 2:10.43, 3.55 seconds ahead of Canada’s Sarah Darcel. Great Britain’s Hannah Miley was third in 2:15.51.

Ashley Twichell closed out the women’s events by winning the 800-meter freestyle in 8:36.17, 2.32 seconds ahead of Argentina’s Delfina Pignatiello. Swimming just a short drive from her home in Carmel, Indiana, Emma Nordin was third in 8:46.32.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

Cody Miller, the Olympic bronze medalist in the 100-meter breaststroke, got the men into the medal production by finishing second in a race where silver was more like gold. Great Britain’s Adam Peaty, the Rio Olympic champion and world record holder who has dominated the event the past three years, won in 58.86. Miller touched second in 1:00.30, edging out Italy’s Nicolo Martinenghi by 0.03. Kevin Cordes, Miller’s teammate in Brazil, was fourth in 1:00.43., while Nic Fink was fifth, in 1:01.00.

Jacob Pebley was second for the second time this weekend, backing his Friday finish in the 200-meter backstroke with another in the men’s 100 back. Xu Jiayu continued his dominance, posting the top time in the world this season with a 53.04 while Pebley touched in 53.77. Grigory Tarasevich, a Russian who competes at the University of Louisville, was third in 53.96.

Josh Prenot won his second race of the meet by chasing down teammate Michael Andrew over the final 50 meters of the men’s 200 IM. Silver medalist in the 200-meter breaststroke in Rio, Prenot stormed back to win in 1:58.93, adding to his win Thursday in the 200 breast and Friday’s second-place finish in the 400 IM. Andrew, a 17-year-old from Aberdeen, South Dakota, shaved 0.07 seconds off the junior world record with his time of 1:59.12. Daiya Seto of Japan was third, 1.42 off the winning pace.

Andrew Abruzzo closed out the meet by turning a 0.16 deficit with 300 meters left in the men’s 1,500-meter into a victory with a personal best of 15:13.95, 1.64 seconds ahead of Great Britain’s Tom Derbyshire. Stephen Milne took third in 15:20.01 as British swimmers took three of the top four spots.

Related Athletes

head shot

Hali Flickinger

head shot

Molly Hannis

head shot

Melanie Margalis

head shot

Katie Meili

head shot

Cody Miller

head shot

Jacob Pebley

head shot

Josh Prenot