Home News Congrats, KD: Kevin ...

Congrats, KD: Kevin Durant Joins Elite Group Of Basketball Players To Win NBA, Olympic And World Cup Titles

By Emily Reinwald | June 13, 2017, 6:47 p.m. (ET)

Only a handful of players have completed the Triple Crown of basketball: an NBA championship, an Olympic gold, and an FIBA World Cup title. On Tuesday, Kevin Durant became the 10th member of this premier club when the Golden State Warriors won the 2017 NBA Finals over the Cleveland Cavaliers. Take a look at all 10 members of this elite fraternity.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

1) Kevin Durant

The newest member of the club, Durant began by winning the 2010 FIBA World Cup. As a member of Team USA, he won back-to-back golds at the Olympic Games London 2012 and Rio 2016. After 11 seasons in the NBA, he won his first championship with the Warriors. Alongside Shaquille O'Neill, Durant is one of only two players who won all three titles as well as the MVP award for the NBA Finals and the FIBA World Cup.


2) Kyrie Irving

All three of Irving's titles came within two years of each other. In September of 2014, he won the FIBA World Cup, then claimed the NBA title with the Cavaliers in 2016 before winning gold in Rio just a few months later.


3) Klay Thompson

Thompson achieved the trinity with his gold medal from Rio 2016. He had earlier won the FIBA World Cup in 2014 and his first of two NBA championships with the Warriors in 2015; the second came in 2017.


4) Kevin Love

While Love's Cavaliers may have fallen short in the NBA Finals this year, their victory in 2016 solidified his membership in the club. His world cup win came in 2010 in Istanbul, Turkey. Less than two years later, he averaged 11.6 points per game to help Team USA claim gold in London.


5) Andre Iguodala

Within the past seven years, Iguodala has won the FIBA World Cup, an Olympic gold medal, and two NBA titles. Coming off the world cup win in 2010, Iguodala then helped Team USA win gold in London. As a Warrior, he added two NBA titles to his resume in 2015 and 2017.


6)Tyson Chandler

Like Irving, Chandler's trifecta was completed within two years after winning the 2010 FIBA World Cup. The following year, he won the NBA championship with the Dallas Mavericks, and then officially joined the club with a gold medal in London in 2012.


7) Alonzo Mourning

Each of Mourning's three titles came six years apart. In 1994, he won the FIBA World Cup, but then had to wait until 2000 to win Olympic gold. Six years after that victory, he won the NBA title with the Miami Heat.


8) Steve Smith

Smith won his first title with Team USA at the 1994 FIBA World Cup before winning gold at the Olympic Games Sydney 2000. He completed the triad when he won the NBA championship as a member of the San Antonio Spurs in 2003.


9) Shaquille O'Neal

When Shaq won the first of his four NBA championships in 2000, he became just the second player to win all three titles. Shaq not only won the the 1994 FIBA World Cup, he was also named the MVP. He won his Olympic gold in Atlanta in 1996.


10) David Robinson

The Admiral was the founding member of the club when he completed the trifecta by winning the 1999 NBA championship. In 1986, he won the FIBA World Cup with Team USA, then went on to win gold at the 1992 and 1996 Games.

Related Athletes

head shot

Kevin Durant

head shot

Kyrie Irving

head shot

Klay Thompson

head shot

Kevin Love

head shot

Andre Iguodala

head shot

Tyson Chandler