Home News Olympians McQuin Bar...

Olympians McQuin Baron, Ashleigh Johnson First-Ever Goalkeepers Jointly Awarded NCAA Water Polo’s Top Award

By Karen Price | June 04, 2017, 2:43 p.m. (ET)

2016 Olympians McQuin Baron (L) and Ashleigh Johnson became the first goalkeepers to jointly receive the Peter J. Cutino Award on June 3, 2017.


A pair of 2016 Olympians and — for the first time ever — two goalkeepers won the Peter J. Cutino Award, given annually to the best college water polo players.

USC’s McQuin Baron and Princeton’s Ashleigh Johnson were named men’s and women’s winners, respectively, at the Olympic Club in San Francisco on Saturday night.

Other finalists were UCLA’s Rachel Fattal and Stanford’s Maggie Steffens on the women’s side, both of whom joined Johnson on the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team. Blake Edwards of USC, and UCLA’s Garrett Danner and Ryder Roberts, were finalists on the men’s side.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

Johnson, who made 51 total saves and won gold with the U.S. women at the Olympic Games Rio 2016, became the first women’s winner of the award from a school other than Stanford, USC or UCLA and the first African-American winner in either men’s or women’s water polo since the award was first presented in 1999. The Miami native was 22-4 with Princeton this season, her senior year, with 300 saves and a .693 save percentage.

Baron became the second goalkeeper to win the men’s award in a row, after Danner took the honors last year. The North Tustin, California, native amassed 247 saves and went 24-2 this season as a junior with USC to help the Trojans return to the NCAA title match. He was a member of the 2016 Olympic team that finished 10th in Rio.

Karen Price is a reporter from Pittsburgh who has covered Olympic sports for various publications. She is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

McQuin Baron

head shot

Ashleigh Johnson