Home News USRowing Names 19 Ol...

USRowing Names 19 Olympians And Paralympians Among 78-Member Team Florida-Bound For 2017 World Championships

By Gary R. Blockus | Aug. 29, 2017, 2:19 p.m. (ET)

Emily Regan, Kerry Simmonds, Amanda Polk, Lauren Schmetterling, Tessa Gobbo, Meghan Musnicki, Eleanor Logan and Katelin Snyder compete in the women's eight at the Olympic Games Rio 2016 at the Lagoa Stadium on Aug. 8, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro.


A star-studded cast of 78 athletes has been assembled by USRowing to represent the United States at the 2017 World Rowing Championships that will be held Sept. 23-Oct. 1 in Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida. It marks the first time the U.S. has hosted the world championships since they were held in Indianapolis in 1994.

Olympic gold medalists Katelin Guregian (née Snyder), Emily Regan and Lauren Schmetterling lead a U.S. team fielding 25 crews made up of athletes haling from 24 states and two countries. All three compete for the dominant U.S. women’s eight, which has won three straight Olympic gold medals. Guregian is the women’s eight coxswain.

The women's eight will go for its 12th consecutive world or Olympic title in Florida.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

The team also features Megan Kalmoe and Kara Kohler, who won bronze in the women’s quadruple sculls at the Olympic Games London 2012. Kalmoe, a three-time Olympian, will race with 2016 Olympian Tracy Eisser in the women’s pair, while Kohler is in the women’s quad.

The mixed four with coxswain features four of the five athletes who earned Paralympic silver in Rio last year.

The U.S. selections represent a veteran squad that includes 60 athletes who have competed at past world championships, plus 18 rowers new to the national team.

“With the championships being the first stage towards Tokyo, there will be a good mix of returning athletes and new talent across the board and in multiple events,” said USRowing Director of High Performance Matt Imes. “Everyone looks forward to establishing the foundation here in 2017 to build off of as we prepare for 2020."

The U.S. won three medals at the Olympic and Paralympic Games Rio 2016: gold in the women’s eight, silver in women’s single sculls, and silver in legs, trunk and arms mixed four with coxswain.

The U.S. will look to match or potentially build on its seven-medal haul from the 2015 world championships (three golds, one silver and three bronzes) when it hits home waters next month.


The full 2017 United States world championships team roster:

Men’s Single Sculls
Michael Clougher

Women’s Single Sculls
Felice Mueller

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Nicholas Trojan

Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Mary Jones

Men’s Double Sculls
Ben Davison
John Graves

Women’s Double Sculls
Ellen Tomek
Meghan O’Leary

Lightweight Men’s Double Sculls
Christopher Lambert-Rodgers
Peter Schmidt

Lightweight Women’s Double Sculls
Emily Schmieg
Michelle Sechser

Men’s Pair
Anders Weiss
Michael Colella

Women’s Pair
Megan Kalmoe
Tracy Eisser

Men’s Four
Ben Delaney
Alex Richards
Bobby Moffitt
Ben Ruble

Women’s Four
Kendall Chase
Kristine O’Brien
Molly Bruggeman
Erin Reelick

Lightweight Men’s Four
David O. Smith
Thomas Foster
Nicholas Dawe
Andrew Neils

Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Leonard Futterman
Jonathan Kirkegaard
Erik Frid
Lucas Wilhelm

Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Kara Kohler
Maureen McCauliffe
Emily Huelskamp
Elizabeth Sonshine

Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Sculls
Jack Ruske
Will Young
Jacob Georgeson
Brendan Harrington

Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Sculls
Jillian Zieff
Kathryn Schiro
Cara Stawicki
Jen Sager

Men’s Eight
Julian Venonsky
Patrick Eble
Andrew Reed
Nick Mead
Tom Peszek
Jordan Vanderstoep
Alex Karwoski
Yohann Rigogne
Dariush “Tim” Aghai

Women’s Eight
Katelin Guregian
Sarah Dougherty
Grace Latz
Corrine Schoeller
Sophia Vitas
Lauren Schmetterling
Kelly Pierce
Emily Regan
Meghan Wheeler

Men’s Lightweight Pair
Alex Twist
Jack Devlin

PR1 Men’s Single Sculls
Blake Haxton

PR1 Women’s Single Sculls
Hallie Smith

PR2 Mixed Double Sculls
Isaac French
Laura Goodkind

PR3 Mixed Double Sculls
Russell Gernaat
Natalie McCarthy

PR3 Mixed Four with Coxswain
Jenny Sichel
Danielle Hansen
Zachary Burns
Mike Varro
Jaclyn Smith

Gia Doonan
Erin Boxberger
Kara Soucek

Gary R. Blockus is a journalist from Allentown, Pennsylvania who has covered multiple Olympic Games. He is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Katelin Guregian

head shot

Emily Regan

head shot

Lauren Schmetterling

head shot

Megan Kalmoe

head shot

Kara Kohler

head shot

Tracy Eisser