Home News USA Cycling Names Wo...

USA Cycling Names Women’s Road Worlds Team, Led By A Defending Champ And 4 Olympians

By Gary R. Blockus | Aug. 28, 2017, 9:36 p.m. (ET)

Amber Neben competes in the elite women's individual time trial at the UCI Road World Championships on Sept. 18, 2012 in Valkenburg, Netherlands.


Reigning time trial world champion and two-time Olympian Amber Neben heads a list of eight women named by USA Cycling who will compete at the 2017 UCI Road World Championships Sept. 16-26 in Bergen, Norway.

Neben became the second-oldest women’s time trial world champion at age 41 last year. The oldest won at 42. The Lake Forest, California, native also won the title in 2008.

Joining Neben in the time trial will be current continental time trial champion Chloe Dygert, Lauren Stephens and Tayler Wiles. Stephens is a strong breakaway rider and Wiles is considered an aggressive climber.

Dygert is also an accomplished track cyclist. She was part of the silver-medal-winning pursuit team at the Olympic Games Rio 2016 and also boasts three track world titles.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

Also lining up for Team USA in the road race will be all-around racer Megan Guarnier, a 2016 Olympian who won bronze at the 2015 worlds and was second overall at the 2017 Tour of Norway; Tour of California runner-up Katie Hall; sprinter Coryn Rivera, who placed first in this year’s Trofeo Binda and Tour of Flanders; and sprinter Ruth Winder, a 2016 Olympian in track cycling.

USA Cycling expects to name the men’s elite team for the world championships on Sept. 9.

Elite Women

Chloe Dygert (Bremerton, Washington/Sho-Air TWENTY20) – time trial
Megan Guarnier (San Mateo, California/Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) – road race
Katie Hall (Oakland, California/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women's Team) – road race
Amber Neben (Lake Forest, California/Team Velo CONCEPT) – road race, time trial
Coryn Rivera (Orange County, California/Sunweb) – road race
Lauren Stephens (Dallas, Texas/Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) – road race, time trial
Tayler Wiles (Fairfax, California/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) – road race, time trial
Ruth Winder (Lafayette, California/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) – road race

Gary R. Blockus is a journalist from Allentown, Pennsylvania who has covered multiple Olympic Games. He is a freelance contributor to TeamUSA.org on behalf of Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Related Athletes

head shot

Chloé Dygert

head shot

Megan Guarnier

head shot

Amber Neben

Road Cycling
head shot

Ruth Winder