By United States Olympic Committee | Sept. 06, 2016, 8 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. – The United States Olympic Committee today announced that the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Games, will take place on Wednesday, Sept. 28, at Georgetown University’s McDonough Arena in Washington, D.C. The awards honor the awe-inspiring, outstanding U.S. performances from the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games, and will air Oct. 4 on NBC Sports Network from 10-11 p.m. ET.

Voting is currently open at for the Best of the Olympic Games categories, and closes on Friday, Sept. 9, at 11:59 pm MT. Finalists include Olympic champions Carmelo Anthony (basketball), Simone Biles (gymnastics), Katie Ledecky and Michael Phelps (swimming), and Allyson Felix and teammates’ 400-meter relay (track and field). Winners in each of the categories will be announced during the awards show and welcomed on stage to share a few remarks. The full list of finalists is listed below, and bios are available at

More than 500 members of Team USA are expected to attend the ceremony, which will take place at 7 p.m. on Sept. 28, and will include athlete and celebrity presenters to be announced in the coming weeks. A red carpet for arrivals and media interviews will begin at 4:30 p.m.

The Team USA Awards honor the athletes and teams of the Games in six categories:

  • Female Athlete of the Olympic Games, presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods
  • Male Athlete of the Olympic Games
  • Team of the Olympic Games, presented by Dow
  • Female Athlete of the Paralympic Games, presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods
  • Male Athlete of the Paralympic Games, presented by The Hartford
  • Team of the Paralympic Games, presented by Dow

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

The ceremony will also recognize two additional awards: the Coach of the Games, and the Building Dreams Award, presented by USG, which honors an individual, group or community that has gone above and beyond in its support of Team USA.

Voting for the Best of the Paralympic Games categories will open on Sunday, Sept. 18, after the Paralympic Games conclude.

The 2016 Olympic finalists for the individual athlete and team categories were selected based on nominations from each National Governing Body.

In addition to presenting sponsor Dow, six USOC sponsors – Coca-Cola, DICK’S Sporting Goods, Kellogg’s, The Hartford, Samsung and USG – are associate sponsors of the Team USA Awards, Best of the Games event.

Information on media credentials for those interested in attending and covering the event will be sent in the coming weeks.

Olympic finalists for Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Games

Simone Biles, Gymnastics
Gwen Jorgensen, Triathlon
Katie Ledecky, Swimming
Helen Maroulis, Wrestling
Claressa Shields, Boxing

Carmelo Anthony, Basketball
Matthew Centrowitz, Track and Field
Connor Fields, Cycling – BMX
Michael Phelps, Swimming
Kyle Snyder, Wrestling

Women’s Basketball
Women’s Gymnastics
Women’s Rowing Eight
Women's Track 400-meter Relay
Women’s Water Polo