Home News Claressa Shields, As...

Claressa Shields, Ashleigh Johnson Named Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswomen Of The Year

By Craig Bohnert | Oct. 19, 2016, 11:41 p.m. (ET)

Claressa Shields (L) and Ashleigh Johnson attend the 37th Annual Salute to Women in Sports Gala at Cipriani Wall Street on Oct. 19, 2016 in New York City.

Boxer Claressa Shields and water polo goalkeeper Ashleigh Johnson were named the Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswomen of the Year Wednesday evening during the organization’s 37th Annual Salute to Women in Sports in New York City.

Shields was named Sportswoman of the Year in the individual category and is the first boxer to win the award. Four years after becoming the first American woman to win an Olympic gold medal in boxing, the middleweight became the first U.S. boxer, male or female, to repeat as an Olympic champion. Also a two-time world champion and gold medalist at the Toronto 2015 Pan American Games, Shields has an overall record of 77-1.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

Johnson was named the Sportswoman of the Year in the team category and is the first water polo player to win the award. The first black woman to compete for Team USA in Olympic water polo, she was a brick wall as the U.S. became the first team to repeat as Olympic champion when it won gold at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. Johnson was named the top goalkeeper of the Olympic tournament after making 51 saves in Brazil. She also posted 45 saves as the U.S. took the World League Super Final title for the third consecutive year.

Related Athletes

head shot

Claressa Shields

head shot

Ashleigh Johnson