Home News Eighteen Athletes No...

Eighteen Athletes Nominated To The U.S. Cycling Team Who Will Compete At The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

By Beth Bourgeois | July 03, 2016, 6:55 a.m. (ET)

Eighteen cyclists were named today to the U.S. Paralympic Team. 

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Today U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, named the roster of 18 cycling athletes who will compete as part of Team USA at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games from September 7-18.

Team USA will have the largest cycling team of any country at the Games due to its standout performances at major competitions over the past four years. Individual athletes were selected based on their performances at key international and domestic events throughout the 2015-2016 season, including the 2016 U.S. Paralympics Cycling Team Trial on July 2 in Charlotte, N.C.

“Our athletes and coaching staff have worked really hard on the program over the past four years, and as a team, we’ve become the best in the world,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director for U.S. Paralympics Cycling. “The roster includes a mix of returning athletes and new talent, which when combined, translates to one amazing team. We expect to exceed our performance from London and to see some amazing performances in Rio.”

Of the group, seven are returning Paralympians who collectively amassed 12 of the 17 U.S. cycling medals won at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Included among the seven are Joe Berenyi, who won gold and silver in individual events and a bronze in the team sprint in London. For former alpine skier Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Rio will mark her eighth Paralympic Games competition between the two sports. Jones won three medals, one gold and two bronze, at the London 2012 Games.

The team is also comprised of six military veterans. They include Navy veteran Will Groulx (Portland, Oregon), who transitioned to cycling after winning three Paralympic medals as a member of the ’04, ’08 and ’12 U.S. wheelchair rugby teams. Handcyclist Oz Sanchez (San Diego, California), a Marine Corps veteran, who won gold in the H1-4 team relay and bronze in the individual time trial in London. Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.), Army veteran, is also returning to Team USA; she won silver in the individual C4-5 500m time trial and bronze in the team sprints in London.

Three additional military veterans who will make their Games debut in Rio include Army veteran Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kansas); she is the reigning world champion in time trial, road race and pursuit. Tom Davis (Fremont, Indiana), Army veteran, and Scott Martin (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Marine Corps veteran, will also make their Games debut in Rio.

Other notable athletes named to the roster include time trial reigning world champion Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, California), Ryan Boyle (New Haven, Connecticut), who competes on the trike and won bronze in both the road race and time trial at the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships, and Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.), who is a retired state trooper.

The 2016 U.S. Paralympic Cycling Team roster is as follows:
*Denotes previous Paralympian

Name  Class Hometown
Samantha Bosco WC5 Springhill, Fla.
Alicia Dana WH3 Putney, Vt.
Megan Fisher WC4 Missoula, Mt.
Allison Jones WC2 Colorado Springs Colo.
Oksana Masters WH5 Louisville, Ky.
Shawn Morelli WC4 Leavenworth, Kan./Army
Jennifer Schuble WC5 Homewood, Ala./Army
Jill Walsh WT2 Syracuse, N.Y.
Jamie Whitmore WC3 Mount Aukum Calif.
Joseph Berenyi MC3 Oswego, Ill.
Ryan Boyle MT2 Monroe, Ct.
Thomas Davis MH4 Fremont, Ind./Army
Will Groulx MH2 Portland, Ore./Navy
Will Lachenauer MH3 Reno, Nev.
Billy Lister MC1 Cold Spring Harbor N.Y.
Jeffrey Scott Martin MC4 Oceanside, Calif./Marine Corps
Oscar "Oz" Sanchez MH5 San Diego, Calif./Marine Corps
Brian Sheridan MH2 Clarkston, Mich.

The Rio 2016 Paralympic Games is expected to be the largest to date, with more than 4,500 athletes from 176 countries expected to compete.





Related Athletes

head shot

Joe Berenyi

head shot

Ryan Boyle

head shot

Tom Davis

head shot

Will Groulx

head shot

Will Lachenauer

head shot

Jeffrey Scott Martin

head shot

Oz Sanchez

head shot

Brian Sheridan

Road Cycling
head shot

Samantha Bosco

head shot

Alicia Dana

head shot

Megan Fisher

head shot

Allison Jones

Alpine Skiing
head shot

Oksana Masters

Nordic Skiing
head shot

Shawn Morelli

head shot

Jennifer Schuble

head shot

Jill Walsh

head shot

Jamie Whitmore