Home News Coach K, Geno Auriem...

Coach K, Geno Auriemma Named USA Basketball National Coaches Of The Year

By Craig Bohnert | Dec. 01, 2016, 1:16 p.m. (ET)

Mike Krzyzewski (L) and Geno Auriemma (R) have been named 2016 National Coaches of the Year by USA Basketball.

After leading their teams to undefeated records and gold medals at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, Geno Auriemma and Mike Krzyzewski have been selected to receive 2016 National Coach of the Year honors by USA Basketball.

The selection marks the fourth time that the two have received the honor together since 2010 and is the seventh time Krzyzewski has received the award, a record.

Download the Team USA app today for breaking news, Olympic and Paralympic team bios, videos and more.

Guiding a juggernaut team that racked up an average victory margin of 37.2 points on the way to a record sixth consecutive Olympic gold medal, Auriemma became the first coach in U.S. women’s history to lead back-to-back Olympic teams as well as the first to secure consecutive Olympic titles. The women’s coach at the University of Connecticut, he has fashioned a 50-1 record in FIBA and FIBA Americas competition and a 73-9 mark overall at the helm of the U.S. women’s team.

The first coach to win three Olympic titles, Krzyzewski compiled an overall record of 142-7 during his time on the sidelines with USA Basketball, including a remarkable 88-1 mark since 2006 as head coach of the U.S. men’s team.  The men’s coach at Duke University, he joins the legendary Henry Iba (1964, 1968, 1972) as the only coaches to lead the U.S. Olympic Basketball Team in three consecutive quadrennials, and he is the first to successfully defend Olympic and FIBA World Cup championships.