Home News 23 Olympic Medalists...

23 Olympic Medalists To Be Inducted Into National Rowing Hall Of Fame

By USRowing | April 19, 2016, 11:30 a.m. (ET)

Christine Smith Collins and Sarah Garner Wolf pose with their bronze medals in women's lightweight double sculls at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games at the Sydney International Regatta Centre on Sept. 24, 2000 in Sydney.

NORTH STONINGTON, Conn. – The National Rowing Foundation will induct the crews of six boats comprising 24 outstanding athletes and two dedicated patrons of rowing, all of whom represent the very best in the sport, on Saturday, April 23, in Sarasota, Fla.

These men and women will join the ranks of Hall of Fame greats like Joe Rantz, the 1936 “Boys in the Boat” Olympic gold medalist; “Mr. Philadelphia of rowing,” Jack Kelly; legendary boat builder, George Pocock; iconic coach, Harry Parker; and recent gold medalists like Caroline Lind Shald, Bryan Volpenhein, Susan Francia and Mary Whipple Murray.

"Through their Olympic and world championship performances or extraordinary contributions, the men and women to be honored meet or exceed the highest standard for athleticism, tenacity, commitment and devotion to—and success in—our sport,” said Charles Hamlin, Executive Director of the NRF.  

Those to be inducted are:

Joanne Wright Iverson, Patron:
For her lifelong leadership and tireless advocacy for women's rowing, the NRF will induct Joanne Iverson. Founder of the National Women's Rowing Association in 1963; prime mover in securing the inclusion of women in the Olympic Games; and manager of the first women's Olympic team in 1976, Joanne has been a tireless and successful advocate for women's rowing.

The 1976 Olympic Bronze Medal Women's Eight:
Comprising Carol Brown, Anne Warner, Carie Graves, Lynn Silliman Reed, Gail Ricketson Helfer, Peggy McCarthy Bailey, Jackie Zoch Major, Marion Greig, Anita DeFrantz and coach Harry Parker, this women's eight was the first women's crew to compete for the U.S. at the Olympic Games, win a medal and set the stage for the United States’ success in women's rowing at the world championships and Olympic Games.

The 1976 Olympic Silver Medal, Men's Coxless Pair:
Calvin Coffey and Michael Staines, cut from the U.S. team, but undaunted, won the U.S. Olympic Trials and stunned the rowing world with a silver medal against the undefeated East Germans. "Cal" continues his winning ways albeit through the success of his daughter, Olivia, who stroked the U.S. women's quad to an upset victory over Germany at the 2015 World Championships and is a contender for the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team.

The 1996 Olympic Silver Medal Men's Quadruple Sculls:
In an event dominated by European scullers and never won by an American crew, the U.S. quad comprising Jason Gailes, Brian Jamieson, Eric Mueller and Timothy Young shattered the precedent to win a silver medal in the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta and to reinvigorate sculling in the U.S.

The 1996 Olympic Bronze Medal Lightweight Men's Coxless Four:
Overcoming the U.S.'s failure to win either a world championship or Olympic medal in the straight four, the crew of David Collins, Jeffrey Pfaendtner, Marcus Schneider and Bill Carlucci raced to a bronze medal finish and established the U.S. as a full international contender in lightweight rowing.

The 1996 Olympic Silver Medal Lightweight Women's Double Sculls:  
Teresa Z. Bell and Lindsey Burns individually dominated lightweight sculling in the early 1990s. In 1996, they joined forces to win Olympic trials and to go on to take the silver medal at the inaugural lightweight women's double event at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

The 2000 Olympic Bronze Medal Lightweight Women's Double Sculls:
The crew of Christine Smith Collins and Sarah Garner Wolf dominated the lightweight women's double sculls in the latter half of the 1990s, overcame injury and sickness to win the U.S. Olympic Trials and take the bronze medal at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney.

Dr. Timothy Hosea, Patron:
Through his love of rowing and its athletes, and his deep sense of duty and contribution, Tim Hosea served the rowing community in many ways: national team doctor for decades, president of the Princeton National Rowing Association, Director of the NRF and Olympic physician for multiple teams. Tim was simply a superlative individual whom the rowing community revered. Few have given more to the rowing; he will be honored posthumously for his service.

The National Rowing Hall of Fame Class of 2016 Induction Ceremony
Concurrent with the 2016 U.S Olympic and Paralympic Team Trials, the 2016 induction ceremony will be held on April 23, 2016 in Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida. Tickets for the event are available online HERE.