Home News Jordan Larson And Ma...

Jordan Larson And Matt Anderson Named Indoor Volleyball Players Of The Year

By Darci Miller | Dec. 15, 2015, 5:17 p.m. (ET)

Jordan Larson (L) and Matt Anderson have been named the 2015 USA Volleyball Players of the Year.

Two of USA Volleyball’s biggest stars shined the brightest in 2015, as Matt Anderson and Jordan Larson were named the Male and Female Indoor Players of the Year.

Since the London 2012 Olympic Games, Anderson has grown from a promising young player to one of the undisputed team leaders and veterans. He has won the Men’s Indoor Player of the Year Award for the fourth consecutive year after leading the U.S. Men’s National Team to the 2015 FIVB World Cup title, its first in 30 years. He led the team in scoring with 172 points in 37 sets with 137 kills, nine blocks and a tournament-high 26 aces, earning him tournament MVP honors, his first at an international competition. Anderson now gets to look ahead to being chosen for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, as the World Cup win earned Team USA its quota spot.

Larson led the U.S. Women’s National Team to a 41-6 overall record for the 2015 season, including four tournament titles and a bronze medal. The bronze came at the FIVB World Cup, where the team did not manage to qualify for Rio and will have its next opportunity to do so in January. The women’s team won the FIVB Grand Prix in July for the first time since 2012, coming off of the FIVB World Championship in 2014. Larson started 20 matches in 2015, scoring 144 kills and producing averages of 0.32 aces, .24 blocks and 1.49 digs per set.

Related Athletes

head shot

Matt Anderson

head shot

Jordan Larson-Burbach