Home News Wrestling’s Lampe, b...

Wrestling’s Lampe, bobsled’s Holcomb, women’s 4x5 skiing team earn USOC November honors

By USOC | Dec. 07, 2012, 2:30 p.m. (ET)

Jessie Diggins, Holly Brooks, Kikkan Randall, Liz StephenU.S. Ski Team women pose after an historic first ever World Cup relay podium in Gaellivare, Sweden. (L-R) Jessie Diggins, Holly Brooks, Kikkan Randall, Liz Stephen.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Top performances throughout November earned wrestler Alyssa Lampe (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and bobsled pilot Steven Holcomb (Park City, Utah) Athlete of the Month recognition, while the women's 4x5-kilometer cross-country ski team received Team of the Month honors, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

Lampe won gold medals at two international competitions in November. Her first gold came in the 48 kg./105.5 lbs. division at the Hargobind International on Nov. 2 in Burnaby Mountain, British Columbia. Lampe went 3-0 in the tournament and defeated Canada's Jasmine Mian in the final. Lampe added another gold in the same division at the New York Athletic Club International on Nov. 9. She won two bouts in a two-athlete round robin in her weight class, defeating Ai Nakaya of Japan and Lyndsey Almeida of Canada.

Holcomb capped the month of November with a sweep of the two-man bobsled world cup races. Holcomb teamed with Steve Langton (Melrose, Mass.) and Curt Tomasevicz (Shelby, Neb.) to win three gold medals in three events. Holcomb and his USA-1 push crew of Langton, Tomasevicz and Justin Olsen (San Antonio, Texas) also claimed two silver medals in the four-man bobsled races to bring Holcomb's total November medal count to five.

The U.S. women's cross-country ski team made history with its first ever FIS World Cup relay podium in the 4x5 relay on Nov. 25 in Gaellivare, Sweeden. Holly Brooks (Anchorage, Alaska), Kikkan Randall (Anchorage, Alaska) and Liz Stephen (East Montpelier, Vt.) put the team into medal position before Jessie Diggins (Afton, Minn.) outsprinted Norway II to claim bronze for the team.

Figure skating standout Ashley Wagner (Alexandria, Va.) and cycler Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.) earned second and third place in the female vote. On the men's side, wheelchair tennis sensation David Wagner (San Diego, Calif.) finished runner-up, while downhill skier Marco Sullivan (Squaw Valley, Calif.) took third. The 2012 Paralympic gold-medal winning quad doubles team of Nick Taylor (Wichita, Kan.) and Wagner earned second in the team competition, while the figure skating duo of Meryl Davis (West Bloomfield, Mich.) and Charlie White (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) rounded out the voting in third.

Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. A voting panel selects the winners from the pool of nominees with online fan voting via Twitter accounting for 10 percent of the total vote.

1.    Alyssa Lampe, Wrestling
2.    Ashley Wagner, Figure Skating
3.    Katie Compton, Cycling

1.    Steven Holcomb, Bobsled
2.    David Wagner, Tennis
3.    Marco Sullivan, Skiing

1.    Women's 4x5 relay team, Skiing
2.    David Wagner and Nick Taylor, Wheelchair Tennis
3.    Meryl Davis and Charlie White, Figure Skating

Related Athletes

head shot

Katie Compton

head shot

Ashley Wagner

Figure Skating
head shot

David Wagner

Wheelchair Tennis
head shot

Marco Sullivan

head shot

Steven Holcomb

head shot

Meryl Davis

head shot

Charlie White

head shot

Liz Stephen

Cross-Country Skiing
head shot

Kikkan Randall

Cross-Country Skiing
head shot

Jessie Diggins

Cross-Country Skiing
head shot

Holly Brooks