Home News Presenters Named for...

Presenters Named for 2008 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by Allstate

June 13, 2008, 5:53 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - On Thursday, June 19, 2008, Chicago's Harris Theatre will be the site of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008 Induction Ceremony. This black tie event will bring some of the greatest names in sports to the Windy City. Inductees, presenters, and VIPs will arrive on the red carpet at the Harris Theatre from 5:15 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Thursday, June 19 and will be available for interviews and photo opportunities as they enter the theatre. Olympic Movement fans wishing to attend the 2008 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Presented by Allstate can purchase tickets on the USOC's official Web site www.teamusa.org.

Presenters will include:
  • Bart Conner, a Chicago, Ill., native and member of the gold medal-winning U.S. Men's Gymnastics Team at the 1984 Olympic Games, where he won an individual gold on the parallel bars. Also a member of the 1976 and 1980 USA Olympic Gymnastics Teams, he was inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame in the Class of 1992.
  • Bob Ctvrtlik, the USOC's Vice President, International, and a three-time Olympian in the sport of volleyball. As a member of the 1988, '92 and ‘96 U.S. National Teams, he helped the United States earn a gold medal in 1988 and bronze in 1992. Currently he serves as one of the three U.S. members of the International Olympic Committee.
  • Brigadier General Patrick Finnegan, the Dean of the Academic Board at the United States Military Academy, has served in the U.S. Army since 1968. His awards and decorations include the Defense Superior Service Medal with oak leaf cluster, the Legion of Merit, the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters, Army Commendation Medal, Army Achievement Medal with two oak leaf clusters, Humanitarian Service Medal, Saudi Arabia/Kuwait Liberation Medal, and the Defense Meritorious Unit Award with oak leaf cluster, and the Parachutist Badge.
  • Carl Lewis, a four-time Olympian in track and field who won 10 Olympic medals including nine gold medals between the 1988 Games in Seoul through the 1996 Games in Atlanta. He also won 10 World Championships medals, eight of which were gold. His lifetime accomplishments led to being voted "Sportsman of the Century" by the International Olympic Committee in 1999.
  • Carl Liebert, Chief Executive Officer of 24 Hour Fitness.
  • Lenny Wilkens, one of three players to be inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame as both a player and a coach. He was head coach of the 1996 U.S. Olympic Basketball Team that won gold in Atlanta and an assistant with the 1992 team that won gold.
  • David O'Connor, the President of USEF (United States Equestrian Federation) and a two-time Olympian who earned three Olympic medals, including the history-making individual gold aboard Custom Made at the 2000 Games in Sydney.
  • Dick Button, two-time Olympic gold medalist in men's singles figure skating (1948, '52) and the first skater to land a triple jump in competition. He has provided commentary analysis for seven Olympic Games broadcasts.
  • Frank Shorter, the 1972 Olympic gold and 1976 Olympic silver medalist in marathon and member of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 1984.
  • Jim Scherr, the Chief Executive Officer of the United States Olympic Committee and the first Olympian ever selected to lead the U.S. Olympic Committee's day-to-day operations. He was the former Executive Director of USA Wrestling and a member of the 1988 Olympic Wrestling Team.
  • Kristi Yamaguchi, member of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2002. She is the 1992 Olympic Winter Games figure skating gold medalist, and recent winner of Dancing with the Stars.
  • Nancy Hogshead-Makar, a Professor of Law at the Florida Coastal School of Law and one of the nation's foremost exponents of Title IX. She is also a two-time member of the U.S. Olympic Team in swimming and earned three gold medals and one silver at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.
  • Peggy Fleming, figure skating World Champion and 1968 Olympic Winter Games gold medalist. She is a professional skater, a figure skating commentator, and UNICEF representative.
  • Major Ron Wigger, Army rifle coach and two-time National "Coach of the Year." He is the son of Lones Wigger Jr. and one of the nation's top-ranked shooters in smallbore prone.

Credentials are required for all media interested in pre-event (red carpet) interviews at the Harris Theatre on June 19. Please contact Sam Kilgore at (office) 719-866-3503 or (e-mail) samantha.kilgore@usoc.org to request a media credential.

Additional information about the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame can be found at www.usolympichalloffame.com. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008 inductees are wrestler Bruce Baumgartner, marathon athlete Joan Benoit Samuelson, figure skater Brian Boitano, volleyball player Karch Kiraly, boxer Oscar De La Hoya, equestrian J. Michael Plumb, basketball player David Robinson, swimmer Amy Van Dyken, shooter Lones W. Wigger, Jr., Paralympic swimmer John Morgan, coach Carlo Fassi, veteran Carol Heiss Jenkins, the 1996 Women's Gymnastics Team - Amanda Borden, Amy Chow, Dominique Dawes, Shannon Miller, Dominique Moceanu, Jaycie Phelps and Kerri Strug - and special contributor Hollywood producer Frank Marshall.