COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) announced today its 47-member medical staff that will support the 200-plus U.S. athletes at the Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver and Whistler, Canada. Headed by USOC Chief Medical Officer James Moeller, MD, (Troy, Mich.) the U.S. medical staff consists of some of the United States’ premiere physicians, Certified Athletic Trainers, chiropractors and massage therapists.
A graduate of Michigan State University, Moeller has served in a variety of roles for the U.S. Olympic Team. His first Olympic post was as a U.S. Team physician for the Summer World University Games in 2005. Following this experience, he was invited to serve as a U.S. Olympic Team physician at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Torino and then as the Chief Medical Officer for the U.S. Winter World University Games in 2007.
"The USOC has put together a great health care team for the 2010 U.S. Olympic Team," Moeller said. "The health of our athletes will be in the hands of some of the best doctors, chiropractors, trainers, physical and massage therapists available in the sports medicine field, and I'm looking forward to working with this ‘team behind the Team.’"
Primarily responsible for the overall health of the athletes, the U.S. medical staff will be in place at the Olympic Winter Games in sites at both Vancouver and Whistler to administer aid before and during competition, practice and in the Athlete Villages.
"We feel that our medical professionals for the U.S. Team are the best in the world in what they do," said USOC Chief of Sport Performance Mike English. "The athletes of this team have trained for years to be on this stage. Our medical staff has also trained for this moment and will support these athletes in Vancouver and Whistler."
The medical services staff qualified for the U.S. Olympic Team staff by serving in residence at one of the Olympic Training Centers, and/or various national and international events for the USOC.
2010 Olympic Winter Games U.S. Medical Staff
Name Sport Hometown Martin Biermaier, PT Biathlon Bad Abbach, Germany Robert Bray, MD USOC Marina del Rey, Calif. Penny Rose Capps, MT USOC Arlington, Va. Jim Cerulla, ATC Luge Pittsburgh, Pa. Byron Craighead, ATC Bobsled Santa Rosa, Calif. Joe Cygan, ATC USOC Colorado Springs, Colo. Josh Finley, PT/ATC Skiing Media, Pa. Tara Fontenot, DPT Skiing – Women’s Alpine Park City, Utah Larry Gaul, MD Skiing – Nordic Vail, Colo. Tom Hackett, MD Snowboarding Vail, Colo. Tetsuya Hasegawa, DC/ATC Bobsled/Skeleton Dallas, Texas Eric Heiden, MD Long Track Speedskating Park City, Utah Judy Holmes, PT Figure Skating Weybridge, Vt. Jolie Holschen, MD Women’s Ice Hockey Ann Arbor, Mich. Gillian Honeyman, PT Snowboarding Park City, Utah Justin Hunt, ATC Skiing – Freestyle Heber City, Utah Margaret Hunt, ATC USOC Medical Liaison Colorado Springs, Colo. Brad Jones, PT Skiing Carlsbad, Calif. Jill Kolivoski, MT Women’s Ice Hockey Colorado Springs, Colo. Bruce Lifrieri, MT Men’s Ice Hockey White Plains, N.Y. Michelle Look, MD USOC San Diego, Calif. Brian McWilliams, ATC Curling De Pere, Wis. Ed Merrens, MD Biathlon Norwich, Vt. James Moeller, MD USOC Chief Medical Officer Troy, Mich. Mike Noyes, MD Short Track Speedskating Sandy, Utah Terry Orr, MD Skiing – Men’s Alpine South Lake Tahoe, Calif. Adam Perrault, ATC Skiing – Men’s Alpine Park City, Utah Debra Price, MT USOC Kansas City, Mo. Jill Radzinski, ATC Women’s Ice Hockey Davis, Calif. Michael Reed, DC USOC Medical Director Colorado Springs, Colo. Christa Riepe, ATC Skiing – Men’s Alpine Park City, Utah Aaron Saari, PT Skiing – Nordic Portland, Ore. Josh Sandell, DC/ATC USOC Maple Grove, Minn. Andreas Sauerbrey, MD Skiing – Freestyle Steamboat Springs, Colo. Eric St. Pierre, DC Short Track Speedskating Longmont, Colo. Bill Sterett, MD Skiing – Women’s Alpine Vail, Colo. Stacy Struble, ATC USOC Chula Vista, Calif. Mike Stuart, MD Men’s Ice Hockey Rochester, Minn. Alan Thomas, MT USOC Sarasota, Fla. Laura Tietjen, PT Skiing Litchfield Park, Ariz. Blasé Toto, DC USOC East Brunswick, N.J. Ray Tufts, ATC Men’s Ice Hockey Los Gatos, Calif. Mike Walters, MT USOC Mechanicsburg, Pa. Fikre Wondafrash, ATC Long Track Speedskating Draper, Utah Stan Wong, ATC Men’s Ice Hockey Boca Raton, Fla. Brandie Yeik, ATC Skiing – Women’s Alpine Eagle, Colo. Skip Zabilski, MD Figure Skating Duxbury, Mass.
For more information, please contact the USOC Communications Division at (719) 866-4529 or visit Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.