COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The United States Olympic Endowment today announced the recipients of its three awards that will be presented during the annual awards luncheon on Dec. 6 in New York. Olympic figure skating champion, Peggy Fleming Jenkins will be the recipient of the George M. Steinbrenner III Sport Leadership Award; five-time Olympic gold medalist in speedskating Dr. Eric Heiden will be recognized with the William E. Simon Award; and fencer Stephen Sobel will be the honoree of the General Douglas MacArthur Award. Each of these individuals will be honored for their commitment and contributions to the Olympic and Paralympic movements.

After winning the 1968 Olympic gold medal and several national and world championships, Fleming Jenkins went on to advance figure skating through television specials and performed in numerous skating shows across the U.S. She became a popular commentator for ABC Sports/ESPN and is a survivor of breast cancer. The Steinbrenner award is presented annually to honor outstanding members of the Olympic and Paralympic family who have contributed to sport through management, sport organization endeavors or the enhancement of competitive opportunities; and who have displayed qualities of leadership, ethical conduct and dedicated responsibility during a longstanding commitment to sport.

Heiden is the only speedskater in history to have won all five gold medals in the men’s events at a single Olympic Winter Games. Now an orthopedic surgeon, he has served as a team doctor for professional sport teams and for U.S. Speedskating. The Simon award is given to an individual or group who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the Olympic and Paralympic movements.

A dominant fencer in the 1950s, Sobel was a three-time All-American and NCAA champion in men’s saber in 1954. An accomplished lawyer and passionate advocate for fencing on the national stage, he started the U.S. Olympic Committee’s Athlete Advisory Council. Throughout his career, he has advocated for athletes’ rights, protection and well-being, as well as gender equity. In addition to founding the AAC, he previously served as president of USA Fencing, chairman of the USOC membership and credentials committee, chef of mission for the 1987 U.S. Pan American Team, and vice president and secretary of the USOC. The Douglas MacArthur award is given to an individual who has exhibited exemplary service to the USOC and to athletes. 

The USOE was established by the USOC in 1984 to administer and invest the corpus of endowed funds that resulted from the surplus of the Olympic Games Los Angeles 1984. A nonprofit organization, its objective is to support the USOC and its member organizations, with the overall aim of enhancing Olympic and Paralympic sports in the United States. A separate entity from the USOC, the USOE’s net assets have grown to approximately $212 million, while awarding grants to the USOC and its member organizations totaling $320.8 million over the last 33 years.