Thirty student leaders of color selected to participate in annual career development program.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The United States Olympic Committee today announced the 30 student leaders from colleges and universities across the country who were selected to participate in the 2019 FLAME (Finding Leaders Among Minorities Everywhere) Program. The 26th edition of the annual program will be held May 27-June 3 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

FLAME is designed to inspire undergraduate and graduate students of color to pursue careers within the Olympic and Paralympic movements. Selected participants have demonstrated a pursuit of excellence academically and within their communities. They will have the opportunity to grow personally and professionally by connecting with and learning from Team USA athletes, USOC and National Governing Body leaders, and others who have achieved success in the sports industry. The program provides students with an in-depth look at the Olympic and Paralympic movements, and personal exploration of the Olympic values of excellence, friendship and respect.

Participants in this year’s program represent colleges from 17 states across the nation. During the eight-day program, FLAME participants will reside at the Olympic Training Center and partake in seminars, professional development workshops, and networking sessions with leaders in the sports industry. Participants will hear from Team USA athletes and sports administrators, with panel discussions including topics such as athlete wellness and support; integrity in sports; supporting LGBTQ athletes; and elevating athletes’ voices.

The 2019 speaker program is highlighted by several U.S. Olympians and Paralympians, including Chuck Aoki (wheelchair rugby; 2012, 2016), Scout Bassett (Para track and field; 2016), John Carlos (track and field; 1968), Julie Chu (ice hockey; 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014), Chris Coleman (bobsled; 1992, 1994), Dartanyon Crockett (Para judo; 2012, 2016), Teresa Edwards (basketball; 1984, 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000), Lex Gillette (Para track and field; 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016), Allison Jones (Para-cycling; 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, and Para alpine skiing; 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014), Edwin Moses (track and field; 1976, 1980, 1984, 1988), Elana Meyers Taylor (bobsled; 2010, 2014, 2018) and Oz Sanchez (Para-cycling; 2008, 2012, 2016).

Additional speakers include USOC CEO Sarah Hirshland; Alexys Feaster, NBA senior director of player development; Ashland Johnson, civil rights lawyer and sports inclusion advocate; Patricio “Pat” Manuel, the first known transgender male to box professionally in the U.S.; Chris Mosier, American transgender duathlete, triathlete and advocate; Tina Sloan Green, president and co-founder of the Black Women in Sport Foundation; Nic Taylor, 2018 alternate for the U.S. Olympic Men’s Bobsled Team; Renée Tirado, MLB chief of diversity; as well as several FLAME alumni and leaders from the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic community. 

Additional activities will include Paralympic sport demonstrations, a golf workshop organized by the PGA of America and an outing to a Colorado Rockies game.

Flame Class of 2019:



Zakheyah Allen

Mount Holyoke College

Olivia Barker

Marshall University

Adrienne Brown

University of Florida

Gabrielle Brown

Hamline University

Dale Codrington

Georgetown University

Randy Cornejo

Texas A&M University

Leo David

Vanderbilt University

Grace Faye

Robert Morris University

Stephen Fisher

Georgetown University

Gerverus Flagg

Columbia University

Desmar Gomes

St. John's University

Isia Jenkins

Alabama A&M University

Ashley Jocelyn

University of Central Florida

Ross Jordan

Morehouse College

I-yun Lee

Temple University

Faith Lackey

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jabir McKnight

Lincoln University

Jakeyah McNeil

Johnson C. Smith University

Tamara Moten

University of Georgia

Tamara Mukulu

Mount Holyoke College

Riley Parker

St. John's University

Maleah Pearson

University of California, Berkeley

Jesus Rios

University of San Francisco

Jamar Root

Temple University

David Thompson

Hampton University

Tiana Wheeler

Brigham Young University-Hawaii

Ariel Williams

University of Tennessee

Malachi Woods

Florida State University

Lauren Yung

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Eiman Zuberi

University of Louisville