George M. Steinbrenner III Sport Leadership Award, William E. Simon Award
to be presented Dec. 16 in New York
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Henry Kissinger and Thom Weisel were today announced as the recipients of two awards that will be presented by the United States Olympic Foundation on Friday, Dec. 16 at the ‘21’ Club in New York City. In recognition of their commitment and contributions to the Olympic Movement, Kissinger will receive the William E. Simon Award and Weisel will be honored with the George M. Steinbrenner III Sport Leadership Award.
The Steinbrenner Award is presented annually to honor an outstanding member of the Olympic family who has contributed to sport through management, sport organization endeavors or the enhancement of competitive opportunities, and who has displayed qualities of leadership, ethical conduct and dedicated responsibility during a longstanding commitment to sport. Past recipients include Walter L. Bush Jr., Alan Rothenberg, Kirk Bauer, Carol Zaleski and Tom Gompf.
Weisel’s athletic achievements span four decades and include being a five-time national speed skating champion in the 1950s, skiing bronze medalist in the 1982 U.S. Masters Championships and three-time world champion in masters cycling. Yet his athletic accolades are only a part of his diverse career. He has directed an impressive array of business enterprises and has served on numerous boards. In addition, Weisel has been a member, as well as past chairman, of the U.S. Ski Team Foundation board since 1977, and is the founder and current chairman of the USA Cycling Development Foundation board.
The Simon Award is presented to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the Olympic Movement over a sustained period of time and left an enduring legacy to the ideals of Olympism and the Olympic spirit. Past recipients include Daniel L. Doctoroff and Patrick G. Ryan.
Kissinger, former Secretary of State and Nobel Peace Prize winner, has long been an avid promoter of the Olympic Games, both nationally and internationally. He was a member of the International Olympic Committee’s 2000 Commission and was instrumental in revising the IOC’s operating procedures. He is the only current Honor Director of the IOC, and is a past public sector member of the U.S. Olympic Committee’s board of directors. Kissinger is currently chairman of Kissinger Associates Inc., an international consulting firm.
The invitation-only award luncheon will take place on Dec. 16 at 12 p.m. ET with USOF Chairman Bill Hybl serving as master of ceremonies. The Simon Award will be presented by USOC Chairman Larry Probst and J. Peter Simon, son of William E. Simon. The Steinbrenner Award will be presented by USOC CEO Scott Blackmun and Jennifer Steinbrenner Swidal, daughter of George M. Steinbrenner.
About the USOF
The United States Olympic Foundation was established in 1984 by the U.S. Olympic Committee, through the tireless efforts of F. Don Miller and William E. Simon, the USOC’s executive director and president, respectively, to administer and invest the surplus funds generated from the Games of the XXIII Olympiad in Los Angeles. Income generated from the initial permanent endowment of $111.4 million was used to grow the corpus of the fund and make grants to the USOC and its member organizations. Under the leadership of the Foundation’s initial chairman, Bill Simon, and his immediate successor, George M. Steinbrenner III, the USOF has succeeded in achieving this goal. In the past 26 years, the Foundation’s net assets have grown to approximately $191 million, while awarding grants to the USOC and its member organizations totaling $254 million.
For more information, please contact Josie Burke (