COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The United States Olympic Committee today announced the finalists for the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of November, which recognize the outstanding achievements of Team USA athletes from last month. Fans are invited to vote for their favorite athletes and teams at through midnight Monday, Dec. 11.

A total of nine sports – including alpine skiing, bobsled, curling, cycling, fencing, luge, Para snowboarding, speedskating and tennis – are represented among the 13 finalists across men’s, women’s and team categories. The finalists’ collective accomplishments tell the inspiring story of U.S. Olympic and Paralympic athletes year-round.

In addition to Dow, the presenting sponsor, the Team USA Awards are supported by DICK’S Sporting Goods and USG.


Male Athlete of the Month
J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Washington), Short Track Speedskating
Collected three world cup medals, including two bronzes and a world record-breaking gold medal in the 5,000 relay.

Eli Dershwitz (Sherborn Massachusetts), Fencing
Earned his first-ever world cup gold medal in saber, elevating him to No. 10 in the world rankings.

Mike Schultz (Saint Cloud, Minnesota), Para Snowboarding
Upset the defending world champion to win his first gold medal of the world cup season while also earning silver at the competition in Landgraaf, Netherlands.

John Shuster (Superior, Wisconsin), Curling
Became the first American male curler to qualify for four Olympic Winter Games after leading his team to victory at the 2018 U.S. Olympic Team Trails. 

Jack Sock (Kansas City, Kansas), Tennis
Qualified for the ATP Masters Finals after upsetting the No. 3 and No. 5 players in the world in London, and winning five straight matches to take the title in Paris, earning a career-best No. 8 world ranking.

Female Athlete of the Month
Summer Britcher (Glen Rock, Pennsylvania), Luge
Raced to silver and bronze medals at the world cup in Winterberg, Germany, giving her an A tier 2018 Olympic qualification.

Brenna Huckaby (Baton Rouge, Louisiana), Para Snowboarding
Captured back-to-back gold medals in banked slalom races at the world cup in Landgraaf, Netherlands.

Jamie Greubel Poser (Newtown, Pennsylvania), Bobsled
Won two medals in her first three world cup races of the season, including the gold medal in Park City, Utah, and the silver medal in Whistler, British Columbia.

Mikaela Shiffrin (Vail, Colorado), Alpine Skiing
Clinched her first slalom victory of the season – which marked the 26th of her career – and placed second in giant slalom at the world cup in Killington, Vermont.

Jennifer Valente (San Diego, California), Cycling
Earned the silver medal in women’s omnium at the world cup in Pruszkow, Poland, and knocked off the reigning world champion to win gold in the event in Manchester, England.

Team of the Month
Codie Bascue (Whitehall, New York), Carlo Valdes (Newport Beach, California), Sam McGuffie (Cypress, Texas) and Nathan Weber (Pueblo West, Colorado), Bobsled
Combined for three world cup medals, including two-man gold and bronze medals in Lake Placid, New York, and a four-man silver medal in Park City, Utah.

5,000-meter Men’s Relay, Short Track Speedskating
Keith Carroll Jr. (Honey Brook, Pennsylvania), J.R. Celski (Federal Way, Washington), Thomas Hong (Laurel, Maryland) and John-Henry Krueger (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) broke the world record in the men’s 5,000-meter relay with a time of 6:29.052 at the world cup in Shanghai, earning Team USA’s first gold medal in the event since 2013.

U.S. Fed Cup Team, Tennis
CoCo Vandeweghe (Rancho Santa Fe, California), Sloane Stephens (Coral Springs, Florida), Shelby Rogers (Mount Pleasant, South Carolina) and Alison Riske (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) won the first Fed Cup title for the U.S. since 2000, defeating Belarus, 3-2, in a fifth-and-decisive doubles rubber match in Minsk, Belarus.

Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per sport discipline. An internal nominating committee selects finalists to advance to the voting round. Votes received from NGB representatives and select members of the media account for 50 percent of the final tally, with the other half determined by online fan voting via